Jump to content



Photo

Gorgon clarification please


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sorednax

sorednax

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:51 AM

Just played this race for the first time, and we were confused. It's mostly straight forward, except the one line that says your ships never go to the warp.

 

Does that mean that even as an offensive player or ally, should I lose, my ships just return home?



#2 Just_a_Bill

Just_a_Bill

    Member

  • Members
  • 222 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 07:41 AM

Your answer is in the second half of the sentence. It says "Your own ships are never sent to the warp as a result of your power."  This is just FFG's way of saying that the Gorgons don't paralyze themselves. Thng is, it's a completely unnecessary sentence, since Gorgon's power already says it applies only to other players. But FFG can't seem to resist adding redundancies and over-explanations until things get confusing.

 

Gorgon is actually one of the worst-written powers in the game; nobody's really even sure whether all the ways they changed this alien relative to the original Mayfair version were actually intended or not.



#3 sorednax

sorednax

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 09:38 AM

so...my offensive ships return home should we lose???



#4 Just_a_Bill

Just_a_Bill

    Member

  • Members
  • 222 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 07:06 PM

:sigh: No!  Your ships go to the warp normally.  Why would you think your own ships don't have to go to the warp?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS