Jump to content



Photo

does the defender get any loot?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Woodbear

Woodbear

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 July 2013 - 10:35 AM

Hey.

My question is, does the winner of the battle always get loot? For example if someone tries to attack a city and looses does the defender of the city (aka. the winner) get to choose something from the attacker? Resource, culture tokens or trading points?


Edited by Woodbear, 01 August 2013 - 02:49 PM.


#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 19 July 2013 - 01:54 PM

Yes. It is always the winning side that gets loot no matter which side was the attacker. Thematically, if the attacker wins: spoils of war and if the defender wins: reparations.

Edited by Fnoffen, 19 July 2013 - 01:55 PM.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Woodbear

Woodbear

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 July 2013 - 10:34 AM

Thanks for the reply! But what do you mean with reparations? so, he cant choose a resource from the looser?



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 21 July 2013 - 03:04 PM

That's just an equivalent from the real world I used for thematic purposes and has nothing to do with the actual game rules. In the real world history, when a city-state successfully defeated an attacker they would demand ransoms for the safe return of officers and such from the defeated attacking force. Amongst other things, those ransoms went towards rebuilding (a.k.a. repairing) the damages dealt by the attacking part. Hence the word reparations.

Edited by Fnoffen, 22 July 2013 - 10:06 AM.

  • Woodbear likes this

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS