Jump to content



Photo

Ship in ports, when play "dark wings, dark words"


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ceto

ceto

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 July 2013 - 01:21 AM

Hello!
Play westeros card "dark wings, dark words"
Player who have raven, choose b)collect power token
Question: ship who stay in port, give 1 power token? 
 
In Rules say: ship who stay in port, give 1 power token when play card "Game of thrones"
 
PS Sorry for my english.


#2 blaerel

blaerel

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 July 2013 - 11:43 AM

You get the power token with a ship in port when a ,,game of thrones´´ card is shown when a ,,dark wings dark word´´ card is shown and someone chooses that everyone collects power tokens it is the equivalent as the ,,game of thrones´´ card  so yeah you collect the power token


Edited by blaerel, 17 July 2013 - 11:44 AM.


#3 Amin

Amin

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 August 2013 - 10:11 PM

If you follow the FFG internet rulings, then dark wings and dark words would not generate any income out of ports, just Game of Thrones card. This ruling takes precedence over any of the hand out sheets that said otherwise.

 

However, I don't see the harm of collecting power under this situation if you wish to do so. Just make sure everyone agrees one way or the other before the game starts, so there are no disagreements in game.



#4 consultum

consultum

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 January 2014 - 03:32 AM

Where can this official rule be found?



#5 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 26 January 2014 - 02:58 PM

If you follow the FFG internet rulings, then dark wings and dark words would not generate any income out of ports, just Game of Thrones card. This ruling takes precedence over any of the hand out sheets that said otherwise.

 

However, I don't see the harm of collecting power under this situation if you wish to do so. Just make sure everyone agrees one way or the other before the game starts, so there are no disagreements in game.

Wow, that's interesting.  Everyone who plays on Vassal is in general agreement that when DWDW comes up, ships in ports DO generate PT's for the player.  I didn't realize this was even a question for some.


(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark


#6 Gaduka

Gaduka

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 06:11 AM

SFRR, sorry, but you is not right. Most peoples in Vassal server in ver1.3 playing by rules and ship in port NOT counts in DWDW. I'm playing almost every day and can write this.



#7 dancemachine

dancemachine

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:30 AM

 

Hello!
Play westeros card "dark wings, dark words"
Player who have raven, choose b)collect power token
Question: ship who stay in port, give 1 power token? 
 
In Rules say: ship who stay in port, give 1 power token when play card "Game of thrones"
 
PS Sorry for my english.

 

Hey,
I've send the question to game developers and got the response:
The ship in port only provides PTs in case when Game of Thrones card is resolved. All the other Westeros cards, which may allow collecting of PTs ignore ships in ports.
 



#8 Monsterberger

Monsterberger

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:45 PM

If you take a look at the rulebook that has already been printed for all of our eyes to see, you will note that the power token for a ship in port statement does not happen to mention the "Dark Wings, Dark Words" card. It sounds like lots of players are assuming that because "Dark Wings, Dark Words" sometimes has the same function as "Game of Thrones," therefore all of the same rules should apply to both of them. It would not, however, be reasonable to assume the rulebook says things that it doesn't really say.  You can house rule it if you want. I wouldn't count on it in a competitive situation, though.



#9 DarthJalapeno

DarthJalapeno

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 02:09 AM

Official rules

In the Westeros Card reference on the back of the quick reference sheet it says:

 

Dark Wings, Dark Words

a)...

b)All players collect Power tokens for the power icons on the game board and ports (as if a "Game of Thrones"Westeros card had been drawn)

c)...

 

Game of Thrones

In turn order, each player collects one Power token from the Power Pool for each power icon present in areas he controls. Each player also collects one Power token for each friendly port containing a Ship (as long as there are no enemy Ships in the adjacent sea area).



#10 dancemachine

dancemachine

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 05:26 AM

I hope this can end the discussion.

Actual quoting of the e-mail from Jason Walden (Game Designer):

...  Jason Walden <>:

 

A ship in port only provides power from the "A Game of Thrones" Westeros card, not from the Dark Wings, Dark Words card.

 

Jason Walden
Game Producer
Fantasy Flight Games
www.fantasyflightgames.com
 
 
 

On Feb 11, 2014, at 6:29 AM, <> wrote:

Rule Question:
Greeting,

 

Does the ship in port give a Power Token only when "The Game of Thrones" Westeros card is pulled out
or
it also provides a PT for "Dark Wings, Dark Words" Card & collecting of PTs in case of a wielder of an Iron Thrones decides so due to Westeros card?


Edited by dancemachine, 03 March 2014 - 04:27 AM.


#11 forpio

forpio

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 March 2014 - 01:22 PM

actual FFG change their mind, it was correct for some time.
in many rule books, it was clearly written that ports with ships provide power token. 
 
in rule book there is explanation of all westeros III deck cards(page 31). for Dark wings, dark words point b is stated that "all players get power tokens for their land with power icon AND FOR PORTS (same as Game of Thrones card) " 

 

 

 
FFG have to update the FAQ.


#12 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 07 April 2014 - 11:59 AM

SFRR, sorry, but you is not right. Most peoples in Vassal server in ver1.3 playing by rules and ship in port NOT counts in DWDW. I'm playing almost every day and can write this.

Read the Westeros Card Referance sheet, printed by Fantasy Flight Games, that comes with the game:

"Dark Wings, Dark Words...b) All players collect Power tokens for the power icons on the game board and ports (as if a "Game of Thrones" Westeros card had been drawn),..."


(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark


#13 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 07 April 2014 - 12:11 PM

I hope this can end the discussion.

Actual quoting of the e-mail from Jason Walden (Game Designer):

...  Jason Walden <>:

 

A ship in port only provides power from the "A Game of Thrones" Westeros card, not from the Dark Wings, Dark Words card.

 

Jason Walden
Game Producer
Fantasy Flight Games
www.fantasyflightgames.com
 
 
 

On Feb 11, 2014, at 6:29 AM, <> wrote:

Rule Question:
Greeting,

 

Does the ship in port give a Power Token only when "The Game of Thrones" Westeros card is pulled out
or
it also provides a PT for "Dark Wings, Dark Words" Card & collecting of PTs in case of a wielder of an Iron Thrones decides so due to Westeros card?

This would not be the first time contradictory rulings are issued, then later reversed, then later reversed again, then revised in an FAQ, which is then later revised again.  The FFG officially published Westeros Card Reference that comes with the game states that for DWDW ships in ports collect Power tokens, that this card is identical in effect to the GoT card, and that's the way we are going to continue to play.  Anything else is irrational, AToB for the holder of the IT in mustering is identical in mustering effect to the Mustering Card, updating supply on AToB is identical to the Update Supply card...but DWDW is going to be slightly different for collecting PT's than GoT?...completely illogical, contradictory to the written document, tedious and silly, not ever going to play that way.


(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS