Jump to content



Photo

READ THIS FIRST! Frequently asked questions about EotE


  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#41 HappyDaze

HappyDaze

    Member

  • Members
  • 6,073 posts

Posted 21 August 2013 - 12:45 AM

Is it obvious? I wasn't aware that it was obvious. Don't much like the obvious part. I've read character creation in order and it doesn't mention that under buying new specializations. It mentions what to do after you buy another specialization in terms of not getting extra points.

I wasn't trying to offend you with my use of the word "obvious" so If we can get past that...

 

Look at what I put in bold in your own statement. You don't get extra points, and the free points you were given have already been allocated for your first Specialization.


Ignore, Ignore, you must learn Ignore!

 

Now Ignoring: Nobody.


#42 osu4fan

osu4fan

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 21 August 2013 - 10:13 AM

Page 35 under select specializations:

 

If the character can choose multiple Specs at character creation (whether due to some factor of character creation or because he purchases an additional spec with starting xp) he must select one and ONLY one spec from which to choose his two free ranks in two career skills.

 

 

emphasis mine



#43 BaronVonStevie

BaronVonStevie

    Member

  • Members
  • 51 posts

Posted 21 August 2013 - 04:52 PM

Thank you!



#44 osu4fan

osu4fan

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 21 August 2013 - 05:36 PM

Thank you!

No problemo!



#45 FangGrip

FangGrip

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,066 posts

Posted 22 August 2013 - 02:11 PM

Hey Venthrac, could you possibly add something about Attachments/Modifications to this FAQ?  There is a surprising number of people who continually ask the same questions about it.  May be a good candidate.


Check out a truly universal RPG with Free Starter Rules at www.AlphaChronicles.com!

Check out the Consummate Gamer Blog for everything that isn't Alpha Chronicles.


#46 Venthrac

Venthrac

    Member

  • Members
  • 907 posts

Posted 22 August 2013 - 04:04 PM

Hey Fang,

 

I did put up the question about the weighted head thing, which seemed to be the most common question relating to attachments and modfications.

 

Do you have suggestions for other questions? I'll be happy to add them if you do.



#47 FangGrip

FangGrip

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,066 posts

Posted 22 August 2013 - 06:25 PM

Hey Fang,

 

I did put up the question about the weighted head thing, which seemed to be the most common question relating to attachments and modfications.

 

Do you have suggestions for other questions? I'll be happy to add them if you do.

 

I was thinking about the attachment/modification question that keeps getting brought up.  For some reason people are having a heck of a difficult time understanding how it is supposed to work.  I.e. You buy the attachment and then modify that attachment.  The weighted head was a pretty common question before the podcast, but for some reason that whole section puzzles people.


Check out a truly universal RPG with Free Starter Rules at www.AlphaChronicles.com!

Check out the Consummate Gamer Blog for everything that isn't Alpha Chronicles.


#48 Doughnut

Doughnut

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 23 August 2013 - 02:16 AM

Venthrac great stuff. One question I would like to see on the FAQ since I have seen it on the forums a few times is: The clarification that cover and guarded stance gives you 1 defense ranged and melee respectively, it does not increase your defense by 1, it gives you 1 defense. So if you have 1 defense for any reason already (armor, talent, item quality, etc) then cover and guarded stance doesn't give you a bonus at all.


"Space. It seems to go on forever, but then you get to the end and the gorilla starts throwing barrels at you." -Fry


#49 Venthrac

Venthrac

    Member

  • Members
  • 907 posts

Posted 23 August 2013 - 07:07 AM

Okay, I'll add some new stuff over the weekend. Thanks for the feedback, guys!



#50 aramis

aramis

    Member

  • Members
  • 996 posts

Posted 23 August 2013 - 10:35 PM

okay, so minion groups can be very dangerous. you can still dust off storm troopers. that's good to know. I look at Han in Ep 4 for example; I don't think people remember how absurd the power of his blaster pistol was. He would point in the general direction of a crowd of stormtroopers, fire wildly, and take them out one or two at a time. Everything he fired at exploded somehow and the Stormtroopers were doing nothing but missing and tripping over eachother. I would like to think that the game could feel like that. I'm still a bit worried about how group skills ramp up their accuracy. I do plan on testing the game this week.

 

Thanks.

It can, and it does, especially when one's rolling 3y+ and a couple blues.



#51 Donovan Morningfire

Donovan Morningfire

    Looking for a saint? Look elsewhere.

  • Members
  • 4,421 posts

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:30 AM

 

okay, so minion groups can be very dangerous. you can still dust off storm troopers. that's good to know. I look at Han in Ep 4 for example; I don't think people remember how absurd the power of his blaster pistol was. He would point in the general direction of a crowd of stormtroopers, fire wildly, and take them out one or two at a time. Everything he fired at exploded somehow and the Stormtroopers were doing nothing but missing and tripping over eachother. I would like to think that the game could feel like that. I'm still a bit worried about how group skills ramp up their accuracy. I do plan on testing the game this week.

 

Thanks.

It can, and it does, especially when one's rolling 3y+ and a couple blues.

 

There's also the matter of Han not being a starting level PC, and instead having plenty of experience under his belt by the time of Episode IV.  So he's got at least an Agility of 4 with three ranks in Ranged (Light), which against an Easy difficulty for being at Short Range, means he's going to roll a lots of successes, enough to take out at least one stormtrooper per shot.  Luke only managed it in EpIV because he was using a blaster rifle, so a single success is enough to drop a stormtrooper.  Leia's a bit tougher seeing as how she's typically using a light blaster pistol, so she'd either need to be rolling huge piles of successes or lots of Advantage to trigger a critical hit to take a trooper down, though she did use a blaster rifle during EpIV and EpV during the scenes were she got most of her trooper kills, so it'd probably be the same situation as it was for Luke; one net success = defeated stormtrooper.


Dono's Gaming & Etc Blog - http://jedimorningfire.blogspot.com/

"You worry about those drink vouchers, I'll worry about that bar tab!"


#52 Venthrac

Venthrac

    Member

  • Members
  • 907 posts

Posted 24 August 2013 - 03:34 PM

Okay, I added an item about how attachments and modifications work.



#53 Chortles

Chortles

    Member

  • Members
  • 821 posts

Posted 24 August 2013 - 05:40 PM

It can also be noted and reiterated that:

1. every stormtrooper downed is one Ranged (Heavy) skill rank less, so not only are there less attackers but they're less likely to hit, and

2. a Minion goes down -- or a group suffers one Minion's worth of wounds (with one of the members being incapacitated) -- immediately if they incur a Critical Injury, so even with a blaster pistol you can down a Minion if you roll enough Advantages.

 

Whereas as Donovan Morningfire said, the blaster rifles in Episodes IV and V let Luke and Leia's successes punch through the Soak 5 (3 from Brawn + 2 from laminate armor) to put the stormtroopers at five wounds per hit... although, isn't it actually six wounds that would incapacitate the stormtroopers, or is "exceed the wound threshold, not match it, to incapacitate" a player thing?


Edited by Chortles, 24 August 2013 - 05:46 PM.

 

Well, according to George Lucas, the Empire is intended to be bad guys and the Sith to be objectively evil.

Fans proceeded to immediately disregard his bull and have fun with the Empire and make believable characters left and right, and come up with sensible rationalizations east, west, north and south.

 


#54 HappyDaze

HappyDaze

    Member

  • Members
  • 6,073 posts

Posted 24 August 2013 - 05:49 PM

It can also be noted and reiterated that:
1. every stormtrooper downed is one Ranged (Heavy) skill rank less, so not only are there less attackers but they're less likely to hit, and
2. a Minion goes down -- or a group suffers one Minion's worth of wounds (with one of the members being incapacitated) -- immediately if they incur a Critical Injury, so even with a blaster pistol you can down a Minion if you roll enough Advantages.
 
Whereas as Donovan Morningfire said, the blaster rifles in Episodes IV and V let Luke and Leia's successes punch through the Soak 5 (3 from Brawn + 2 from laminate armor) to put the stormtroopers at five wounds per hit... although, isn't it actually six wounds that would incapacitate the stormtroopers, or is "exceed the wound threshold, not match it, to incapacitate" a player thing?

That last part is a really good question. I think you need to exceed the WT to drop them. Changes the math a bit.

Ignore, Ignore, you must learn Ignore!

 

Now Ignoring: Nobody.


#55 Chortles

Chortles

    Member

  • Members
  • 821 posts

Posted 24 August 2013 - 05:57 PM

"A bit"? It's the difference between one-shotting 'em and not, although at least stormtroopers could retreat for tactical reasons, such as being one wound from dropping, buying the protagonists a breather... good thing they weren't facing CompForce Assault troopers, they would have kept going! :D


Edited by Chortles, 24 August 2013 - 06:05 PM.

 

Well, according to George Lucas, the Empire is intended to be bad guys and the Sith to be objectively evil.

Fans proceeded to immediately disregard his bull and have fun with the Empire and make believable characters left and right, and come up with sensible rationalizations east, west, north and south.

 


#56 Donovan Morningfire

Donovan Morningfire

    Looking for a saint? Look elsewhere.

  • Members
  • 4,421 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 04:21 AM

"A bit"? It's the difference between one-shotting 'em and not, although at least stormtroopers could retreat for tactical reasons, such as being one wound from dropping, buying the protagonists a breather... good thing they weren't facing CompForce Assault troopers, they would have kept going! :D

From the sessions I played at GenCon as run under Sam Stewart and Sterling Hershey, as well as some of the ones I watched while simply passing through the FFG RPG room, they were running minion groups as "damage equal to Wound Threshold" takes down a minion.  So in the case of stormtroopers, you'd just need to do 10 damage to drop one of them (5 to get past their Soak Value, another 5 to hit their Wound Threshold).  And by the same token, a PC was taken out of the action the moment they're Strain equaled the Strain Threshold, and same for a Rival NPC when the damage they'd taken equaled their Wound Threshold.

 

Whether that's truly the gospel on how minion groups are run is up for debate, as I saw a few instances where the GMs couldn't remember an exact rule and just made something up on the fly rather than stop the action to flip through a rulebook.  But if enough FFG-sponsored GMs, including two that worked on the rulebook itself, are all doing the same thing, kinda makes you wonder if the intent was that each reference to "exceeds Threshold" in the book actually means "equals or exceeds Threshold instead."  And frankly, saying a minion (or anyone else) drops once damage equals Threshold is a lot easier to track without having to also essentially add +1 Wound to the total Wound Threshold for having to just exceed it.


Dono's Gaming & Etc Blog - http://jedimorningfire.blogspot.com/

"You worry about those drink vouchers, I'll worry about that bar tab!"


#57 Venthrac

Venthrac

    Member

  • Members
  • 907 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:23 AM

Hey gents,

 

The rules are pretty clear on these points (underlined emphasis mine).

 

Per page 315 (again, underlined emphasis mine):

 

When a PC suffers wounds greater than his wound threshold, he is knocked out and incapacitated until his wounds are reduced so that they no longer exceed his wound threshold (likely through healing).

 

And per page 390 :

 

The minion group has a single wound threshold, shared by all members of the group. (For example, a group of 3 stormtroopers - each with a wound threshold of 5 - has a wound threshold of 15.) Each time any member of the group suffers wounds, the wounds are applied to the group's wound threshold. Individual members of the group are defeated one at a time each time the wound suffered exceeds that member's share of the wound threshold. For example, when the stormtrooper group passes 5 wounds, one stormtrooper is defeated.

 

So in all cases, a target must suffer wounds in excess of its threshold in order to be defeated. There is no case I'm aware of in which a creature is defeated when its wounds suffers only equals its threshold.



#58 Venthrac

Venthrac

    Member

  • Members
  • 907 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:25 AM

although, isn't it actually six wounds that would incapacitate the stormtroopers, or is "exceed the wound threshold, not match it, to incapacitate" a player thing?

Correct, a group of stormtrooper minions does not lose its first member until it has suffered its sixth wound.



#59 Chortles

Chortles

    Member

  • Members
  • 821 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 01:23 PM

That's RAW, though Donovan Morningfire's post said that FFG-sponsored GMs "including two that worked on the rulebook itself", were essentially house-ruling-on-the-fly (in the sense of "not RAW") to "equals or exceeds", which may hint at a possible tweak in AoR or FaD if not first EotE errata.


 

Well, according to George Lucas, the Empire is intended to be bad guys and the Sith to be objectively evil.

Fans proceeded to immediately disregard his bull and have fun with the Empire and make believable characters left and right, and come up with sensible rationalizations east, west, north and south.

 


#60 Venthrac

Venthrac

    Member

  • Members
  • 907 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:26 PM

Ah okay. It seemed like there was misunderstanding or confusion about the rules as described in the book.

Carry on, then.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS