Dusty Violin

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Dr.Faust

Dr.Faust

• Members
  • 352 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 11:49 AM

So, I decided to give Patrice a whirl to see what all the fuss was about. Despite her ability being abuse-able on paper, I needed to see it in action for myself. So, I put her in a team along with Luke and two custom Investigators I wanted to try out. Just start, we faced Dusty-the-Gray, Quatchil and sealed him in 9 rounds, with a Doom marker of six. I didn't count gate bursts and only used the base board game.

Anyway, I started playing according to the rules (that is, uses Phases appropriately and yes it made a HUGE difference) Patrice got lucky and managed to get a hold of some choice skills and spells at the start, with a lovely Speed Skill and the Dread Curse. Luke was the First Player, so most of his clue tokens went to not being turned into dust--which in turn meant most of Patrice's went to that as well. That meant the job of sealing was left to the customized guys--but one of which was built to fight monsters (and now after a playthrough I realized he does it very poorly). The other customized guy was just getting all the luck, managing to ****** up clues in several Locations before his first gate run. Made it through and sealed.

Monsters started descending from the skies--it seemed all I drew were flying types, especially Mi-Go and Patrice, who could have taken the little buggers, was too busy keeping up her clue count to keep Luke alive to fight them. She got lucky and was sent from the Historical Society while they were on a field trip up to Independence Square. There, she had a chance encounter with Anna Kaslov, giving her the next two tokens she needed to keep Luke from drying up into so much powder.