Jump to content



Photo

Alchemist question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 diskotek

diskotek

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 08:28 AM

Hey just have a quick question regarding the alchemist (character).

 

"During your turn, you may alchemise any gold you have into potions. For each gold you discard you may replenish 1 fate, heal 1 life, or gain 1 Spell, if your Craft allows. You may alchemise Objects into gold and alchemise gold into potions during the same turn"

 

"During your turn, you may alchemise any Objects you have into gold. Discard the chosen Objects and gain 1 gold for each Object and 3 gold for each Magic Object"

 

So we were playing with the city expansion and my friend was certain he could alchemise gold into potions from the city expansion potion deck and then alchemising them back for 3 gold each since they are magic objects. By doing this getting max gold and spells within some turns. It felt so wrong and were just wondering, what are the potions he can alchemise?

 

Hope someone understands my question and answers :3



#2 frogemoth

frogemoth

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 01:47 PM

We play that the Alchemist can only buy one item at a time, that way he can buy only one potion and needs to roll a 1 on his next more or he has to go all the way around the board to buy another potion.



#3 diskotek

diskotek

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 01:50 PM

right ;> but what about "During your turn, you may alchemise any gold you have into potions" what are the potions that he can alchemise into?



#4 frogemoth

frogemoth

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 06:29 AM

The potions the alchemist can make are not items, treat them as instant effect, one life, one fate or gain one spell.



#5 diskotek

diskotek

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 04:45 PM

Oh thanks ;D



#6 mrvankil

mrvankil

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 September 2014 - 08:50 AM

even though the "potions" are NOT the same thing as city potions, the alchemist can still get uber gold simply by BUYING the city potions for one gold each and then alchemizing them into three gold.  Rinse and repeat.  This would mean he can buy a wanted poster, three potions, the spell scrolls, and the magic emporium items that cost only two gold.  This is REALLY BROKEN and you might want to house rule it with something like: if anyone alchemizes an item it is removed from the game or some other rule.  On a side note, if you do not house rule it then it still takes a long time for the Alchemist to keep lapping around the city just to get gold to buy the best items but it still wastes a lot of his time that could be spent adventuring.  So it is your call.



#7 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,780 posts

Posted 28 September 2014 - 03:24 PM

Just house rule that the Alchemist character works like the Alchemist Follower, making no distinction between Objects and Magic Objects (1 gold for each, not more).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS