Jump to content



Photo

Mana Weave question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rpgplayer88

rpgplayer88

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:38 AM

Mana weave add the surge result after rolling attack die but didn't specified to which player. So does this assumes it can be used by an equipped mana weave player on other player's attack die?



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:42 AM

Usually, any surge benefit applies to the figure using it.

If no precision is given, I don't think I would add the surge to another hero than the one who equips it (and who rolls attack dice).


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 rpgplayer88

rpgplayer88

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 July 2013 - 10:32 AM

My players argue it because other cards have the wording "your dice roll" and since this one doesn't, could be applied on any attacking die.

 

If they are right, then they can use, exhaust it, then it became refreshed when the equipped player start his turn which disfavour the OL pretty much.


Edited by rpgplayer88, 08 July 2013 - 11:34 AM.


#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,553 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 08:16 PM

Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

You can email FFG if you want an official answer, but I'm reasonably certain that the intent is the hero who has it equipped must be the one rolling attack dice.


  • Robin and Kunzite like this

#5 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 09:08 PM

Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

I have former magic players in my group that pull apart wording. I just might have to use this, if you don't mind. Firepower for the less argumentative OL. >[


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#6 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 382 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 09:11 PM

 



Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

I have former magic players in my group that pull apart wording. I just might have to use this, if you don't mind. Firepower for the less argumentative OL. >[

 

 

There's a reason the only good lawyer is the one at the bottom of the ocean.  I refuse to play with "lawyers" who nit pick and analyze the English language (of what passes for it on FFG's cards).  Takes all the fun out of the game.


  • Robin likes this

#7 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 05:01 PM

 

 



Here's the text on the card, for reference:

 

"After rolling attack dice, exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results."

 

Your hero players argue that the lack of the word "after you roll attack dice" means they can use it on any attack roll.  I would counter by pointing out that it also doesn't say "you may exhaust this card."  Therefore I, as OL, may exhaust your Mana Weave to add a surge to my attack roll, assuming you are ever foolish enough to leave the card refreshed into my OL turn.

 

I have former magic players in my group that pull apart wording. I just might have to use this, if you don't mind. Firepower for the less argumentative OL. >[

 

 

There's a reason the only good lawyer is the one at the bottom of the ocean.  I refuse to play with "lawyers" who nit pick and analyze the English language (of what passes for it on FFG's cards).  Takes all the fun out of the game.

 

 

Sometimes I need it. Other times I want to throw them across the room. It comes full circle. I'm not really the most stright forward OL which leaves them fussy.

 

But yes, if someone nit-picked that bad I might have to walk away.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS