Jump to content



Photo

Labyrinth of ruin questions


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Big Cigar

Big Cigar

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 07 July 2013 - 10:48 PM

I'm struggling to deal with the balance of a few abilities, hoping I'm understanding them wrong!

 

Beastmaster's "Shadow Hunter" Card reads:

 

"Before activating your Wolf, you mach choose to perform an attack with it, rolling the dice shown below. Then your Wolf is defeated."

 

The attack is Red, Red, Green, Green for guaranteed huge damage....

 

Does this really mean a hero can pop this skill, then, because the wolf wasn't activated yet, Activate his character, pop "Bound by the hunt" to bring the wolf back, finish his turn, then activate the wolf to attack again?

 

There was a debate similar to this about the necromancer, but in the necromancers case the reanimate was being activated then attacking and then being summoned and activated again which is clearly BS. (You can only activate a familiar once obviously)

 

In this case though the Wolf has technically never been activated...



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,570 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 08:25 PM

I don't own Labyrinth yet, so I don't know the exact text of "Bound by the Hunt," but yes, that sounds legal based on what you've written here.

 

I think it may be a case of poorly worded rules, though.  Usually when FFG writes "Before doing X..." they mean "immediately before X occurs, do this."  Which would imply you are about to activate the Wolf and then do this first.  But doing this will clearly remove the Wolf from play and therefore the Wolf doesn't actually get activated.

 

I wouldn't be surprised if the intent was for this ability to count as the Wolf's activation for this turn, but you'd have to get official clarification from FFG on that one.



#3 Big Cigar

Big Cigar

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 11:40 PM

FFG got back to me on this, and Yes you can use the ability to kill you're wolf without activating it. You can then activate your beast master, pop the wolf and activate the wolf when the beast master is finished it's turn. This is a pretty potent combo...

 

The E-mail I got from FFG is posted below:

 

 

 

 

Hey, M.

 
Yes, this would be possible.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com
 

Rule Question:

Beastmaster's "Shadow Hunter" Card reads:

"Before activating your Wolf, you mach choose to perform an attack with it, rolling the dice shown below. Then your Wolf is defeated."

Does this mean a hero can pop this skill, then, because the wolf wasn't technically activated yet, Activate his character, pop "Bound by the hunt" to bring the wolf back, finish his turn, then activate the wolf to attack again?

The way the card reads it would seem the wolf was never activated for the special attack and would be able to activate later.

-M


Edited by Big Cigar, 09 July 2013 - 11:41 PM.


#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,570 posts

Posted 14 July 2013 - 05:25 PM

Good to know.



#5 JBouthietteJr

JBouthietteJr

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 17 July 2013 - 03:58 PM

Instead of starting a new thread, I thought I'd hijack this one since "Labyrinth of Ruin questions" seemed like a good catch all title.

Anyways, can allies be used in Lair of the Wyrm sidequests? Since the set-up obviously doesn't state "The heroes control their ally" I'd be wont to say no, but I also think it'd be weird if the heroes didn't have their ally once gaining them.

Edited by JBouthietteJr, 17 July 2013 - 03:58 PM.

TIE Fighter x7 / TIE Advanced x1 / TIE Bomber x3 / TIE Interceptor x8 [Aces x3] / TIE Defender x2 / TIE Phantom x2 / Lambda-Class Shuttle x2 / Firespray-31 x1
X-Wing x3 / A-Wing x3 / B-Wing x1 / HWK-290 x1 / YT-1300 x1

#6 ZXTR

ZXTR

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 17 July 2013 - 09:35 PM

According to the rule book you cannot use ally in LotW sidequests.



#7 JBouthietteJr

JBouthietteJr

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:39 AM

Thanks! I'll probably still houserule it for heroes to have the allies, and just be more relentless with my hybrid sentinels to makes up for the heroes having an extra character to boot.

 

Now, something a bit more challenging: can anyone explain what the hell is supposed to happen in the Pilgrimage interlude? The whole concept of finding the entrance and exit tiles and how they relate the the unconnected alcove is flabbergasting me to no end. Anyone mind rewording that quest for my benefit? I obviously own the quest guide, so don't need anyone to copy+paste the text verbatim. I'm just looking for a nice step-by-step breakdown of it. If anyone would be willing to do that, I'd be VERY appreciative  :D


TIE Fighter x7 / TIE Advanced x1 / TIE Bomber x3 / TIE Interceptor x8 [Aces x3] / TIE Defender x2 / TIE Phantom x2 / Lambda-Class Shuttle x2 / Firespray-31 x1
X-Wing x3 / A-Wing x3 / B-Wing x1 / HWK-290 x1 / YT-1300 x1

#8 whipko

whipko

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 19 July 2013 - 03:47 AM

The text for this interlude appear to be very confusing. From my understanding, The white and green guardian cannot be destoryed. It will remain on the map even they suffer hearts equal to their health but it remain non active. Red and Blue guardian can be destoryed since it is a victory condition for the OL. So basically Heroes have to keep healing the white and green guardian till they are revealed. And you may not know which guardian since the objective token are facedown in the beginnining. After they are revealed, the entrance and exit tile will replace the corresponding map tile to the Alcove as indicated on the quest map. There is a black line linking between the objective token and the tile. While they are active, the hero could use the action available for white guardian to spend 2 mp to move to the entrance tile in the alcove and if green guardian is also active. The heroes may move off the map from the exit in the alcove too.


 

Seem like a tough quest for the heroes. BUT IT WILL BE DAMN FUN.


Edited by whipko, 19 July 2013 - 03:48 AM.

  • Kunzite likes this

#9 Chirisophus

Chirisophus

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 23 July 2013 - 05:19 PM

Does anyone else see this ability as a little overpowered? For the cost of 1 fatigue I can pop the wolf out beside the beastmaster, choose to use shadow hunter instead and get a guaranteed hit for 2-8 damage (+ possibility of pierce 1)? Seems like no other ability quite equals the XP = benefit ratio of this skill. Plus if the wolf is already out I get the same as above but can resummon and activate it again for another swing (or not resummons it and get the above killer hit for no action / no fatigue). I can't believe FFG gave the ok on the interpretation outlined above (I usually OL but sometimes play as heroes too).



#10 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,570 posts

Posted 23 July 2013 - 05:40 PM

Does anyone else see this ability as a little overpowered?

 

It's powerful, sure.  I'm not convinced it's over-powered though.  I'm not convinced it isn't, either, mind you.  I'd have to play with it for a while to see how it impacts the heroes' win ratio.  Lots of things sound awesome on paper, but wind up either not being so cool in practice, or they just don't happen that often.

 

This one can be used fairly frequently, but as to how much it actually changes the dynamic, I haven't seen enough of it to say for sure.



#11 ilulome

ilulome

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 11:02 PM

I have not had the chance to see the Beastmaster in action. But I have seen the cards and the Beastmaster relies alot on the wolf to use his skills.  Since the wolf is defeated after using "Shadow Hunter" card, the Beastmaster would find himself in need to summon the wolf to benefit from his other skills. (Some of them are passive if the wolf is adjacent to a heroe)

 

So that could be taken as a price to pay for using that skill,  1 Action plus fatigue.

 

Some other classes have skills that uses 1 action and can target more than one monster figure and deal damage without the need to roll the hit dice. So "Shadow hunter" may not been as OP as you think.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS