Jump to content



Photo

Martial Arts and Ki


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LucianDeRomeo

LucianDeRomeo

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 July 2013 - 01:40 PM

Hi All! New the game and freshly registered here, I did do some digging around but none of the other threads I found here touched on my questions so I figured I'd ask.(I'm only using rules in the Core Book for now to keep it simple, though my GM does own most of the books)

 

1) Martial Arts - Base Damage vs Final Damage:

Each MA has a certain Base Damage listed with it, and normally to calculate 'Final Damage' you add in Strength to the Base. Do you do this with Martial Arts? For me the real confusion comes in when the Advanced Disciplines start adding to Final Damage instead of Base. 

 

So what would a character with Tai Chi have a Final Damage of? 20 + (2*POW) or 20+(2*POW)+STR?

 

2) Ki Accumulation and Ki 'Points':

So I get that you have a 'Base Amount' of Ki based on your stats, and that Accumulation is also based on your stats and is the 'amount you can draw' from the stat in any given round. Where I'm getting stuck is the idea of having the points or having the 'capacity' to have the points. I'm looking at it in that I have so many points in each pool and my accumulation 'brings that many' to the surface for me to 'channel' into abilities. Thus if you do nothing and 'concentrate' I'll have more to use but if I don't channel them I don't really loose them as much as they aren't 'on the surface' to be used. Is this correct? And just what does 'concentrating' mean from a game mechanics perspective, doing nothing for the sake of concentrating(making no active actions) or is it a kind of action in it's own rite?

 

3) Manifestation of Ki:

So there's a little comment on page 95 of the Core Book that mentions a total Accumulation over 20 causes alterations in his surroundings. Does this occur when the 'Accumulation stat' has been boosted to 20?[A considerable master of Ki by most standards I'm sure] or does it also happen when 20+ points have been 'accumulated'/'brought to the surface'(see my second question)? I'd like to incorporate this into my character's 'flavor' once I get a few more levels so I'm interested in how this is supposed to work.

 

Sorry for the wall of text but I take my gaming seriously and want to make sure I've got this all down  :)



#2 VoidCabbage

VoidCabbage

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:30 PM

Argh, I'm about to head out the door so I dont have time to do more than skim over this but here is a link to the other Anima forums where you might find an answer quicker: http://cipher-studios.com/AnimaBB/

 

I also highly recommend checking with your GM to see if you can borrow Dominus Exxet, it makes much of the Ki and Martial Arts in the core book out of date.

 

Damage is always calculated as weapon damage (unarmed) + STR bonus unless listed otherwise.



#3 Nurddude

Nurddude

    Member

  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:32 PM

1) Base Damage and Final Damage are two totally different things. The Base Damage is calculated by the weapon+str. Final Damage is the damage after calculating the percentage on the combat table. And for Tai Chi, I would say you add both Pow and Str. The power is added because you are using internal energy.

 

2) I am not much of a ki person, but think of it this way: You have the potential to use that much energy based on how powerful your character is in each category. Ki points are you drawing upon the natural resevers of energy inside of you.

 

3)The rule applies to the number of Ki points that you have currently accumulated. They can be from any and all stats. Merely having the ability (Accumulation) to bring out 20 points at once has no effect.



#4 VoidCabbage

VoidCabbage

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 07:08 PM

1) Base Damage and Final Damage are two totally different things. The Base Damage is calculated by the weapon+str. Final Damage is the damage after calculating the percentage on the combat table. And for Tai Chi, I would say you add both Pow and Str. The power is added because you are using internal energy.

 

Ah, I believe that Tai Chi uses POW instead of STR when calculating the bonus. It actually states that, if I am not mistaken.



#5 Nurddude

Nurddude

    Member

  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 09:11 PM

After looking back, you are right. I didn't look at the other arts, so I didn't see that they all specifically say that they use strength.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS