Jump to content



Photo

New player first game some questions about actions


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Pvthudson01

Pvthudson01

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:45 PM

Ok.

 

Played my first game and still a little confused about how abilities work on character cards and I have a few other questions as follows:

 

1) Since there are only 3 tokens for drained domains does that mean the maximum amount of Domains that be drained per turn is 3?

 

2) Can an ability on a character card be used at any time an action can be played if it applies? Even if the character is exhausted?

 

For example in the core set the Clover Club Torch Singer

 

Her action is to give someone -2 skill for a phase. Do I just trigger that? and Say I am doing it? Or do I have to exhaust her to use that action?

 

Or how about PATSY. Sacrifice him to drain exactly two tokens from a story. I dont have to pay for that I just trigger it? I guess I am having a hard time understanding when you can trigger an action on a character and if you have to pay or exhaust or how its used

 

3) When it says to "pay 1" to do something does that drain a whole domain? Also does the color matter?

 

4) When it says I can sacrifice someone as an ability can I do that whenever I want? I just kill them off and apply the effect?


Edited by Pvthudson01, 04 July 2013 - 06:50 PM.


#2 TheProfessor

TheProfessor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,055 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 07:04 PM

1) Since there are only 3 tokens for drained domains does that mean the maximum amount of Domains that be drained per turn is 3?

 

No - if you get additional domains (Eldritch Nexus, for example) you are free to drain them to pay for things in addition to your starting three.  It's just that in most games you will usually have only 3, so they only put 3 markers in the core set.

 

 

2) Can an ability on a character card be used at any time an action can be played if it applies? Even if the character is exhausted?

 

For example in the core set the Clover Club Torch Singer

 

Her action is to give someone -2 skill for a phase. Do I just trigger that? and Say I am doing it? Or do I have to exhaust her to use that action?

 

Or how about PATSY. Sacrifice him to drain exactly two tokens from a story. I dont have to pay for that I just trigger it? I guess I am having a hard time understanding when you can trigger an action on a character and if you have to pay or exhaust or how its used

 

You can use the printed Action any time you can pay the cost.  Clover Club Torch Singer tells you to "Pay 1 to..."  It doesn't matter if she is exhausted, just if you can pay 1.  You could do that multiple times in the same turn if you could afford to pay it.

 

3) When it says to "pay 1" to do something does that drain a whole domain? Also does the color matter?

 

To generate payment points, you must drain a domain.  And you don't get change!  So if you drain a domain with 3 resources to satisfy a "Pay 1" requirement, you don't have 2 left over for something else.  The faction does not matter on a "Pay x" requirement.

 

4) When it says I can sacrifice someone as an ability can I do that whenever I want? I just kill them off and apply the effect?

 

It depends - if it is an Action, then it has to happen when you are allowed to take an Action (see Page 13 of Rules for details on when you can do Actions).  But as long as you are allowed to take the action (or whatever the mechanism is) you can do that.  You can only sacrifice characters you control by the way, unless the card tells you otherwise.

 

 



#3 Pvthudson01

Pvthudson01

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 07:48 PM

Ok one last question. Would the Club Singer have to be ON the table to use that action, or can I play actions from my hand?



#4 badash56

badash56

    Member

  • Members
  • 240 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 08:52 PM

She has to be on the table, or 'in play' as the rules say. However some cards have actions that can be triggered from your hand. In these case it will say so in the action text.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS