Jump to content



Photo

Casting Spells when encountering a Character


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Weslocke

Weslocke

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 12:14 PM

Player A decides to encounter Player B.  The encounter sequence states that it starts with a chance to evade, then cast spells, then battle or psychic combat, etc.  Player B casts "Finger of Death" and takes two lives from player A.  Player B uses the Scribes ability and discards a different spell and keeps "Finger of Death".

 

Question:  The rules state that a player can only cast "ONE" spell on a another characters turn.  Can Player B cast "Finger of Death" a second time on Player A to essentially take four lives as long as the spell is discarded the second time as per the Scribes ability? or could Finger of Death be only cast once because it is not Player B's turn?



#2 Grand Moff Terra

Grand Moff Terra

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 July 2013 - 09:01 PM

As far as I know, you can only cast as many spells as you had at the beginning of the turn, so if he had 2 spells at the beginning of the turn, he can cast a maximum of 2 spells that turn, even if they are the same spell.



#3 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,512 posts

Posted 18 July 2013 - 10:22 AM

Player A decides to encounter Player B.  The encounter sequence states that it starts with a chance to evade, then cast spells, then battle or psychic combat, etc.  Player B casts "Finger of Death" and takes two lives from player A.  Player B uses the Scribes ability and discards a different spell and keeps "Finger of Death".

 

Question:  The rules state that a player can only cast "ONE" spell on a another characters turn.  Can Player B cast "Finger of Death" a second time on Player A to essentially take four lives as long as the spell is discarded the second time as per the Scribes ability? or could Finger of Death be only cast once because it is not Player B's turn?

 

In this case, it's Player "A" turn, so player "B" can cast one Spell, which doesn't mean cast the same Spell infinite times, but cast one single Spell.

 

When it's Player B turn, if he has 2-3 Spells in his hand and encounters Player A, he can cast 2-3 times Finger of Death if he has the Scribe.



#4 Rigmaster

Rigmaster

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 January 2014 - 03:58 AM

Slightly of topic but it took me a long time to understand the difference of the wordings "when you cast your last spell" at the begining of your turn" when it comes to re-gaining. Then I realised that the first one is far more powerful as you can, if chance allows, cast one spell on each opponent.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS