Jump to content



Photo

does discarding a foller equal follower death


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rated lexxx

rated lexxx

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 11:34 AM

I ask because the valkyre ability says when ever a follower dies you can take them

 

There are very few ways in the game to acutally have a follower die. One of them is the chasam on the middle region

 

I ask because it seems like the valkyre ability rarely comes into play if discarding followers does not mean death



#2 rated lexxx

rated lexxx

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:26 AM

What makes it even stranger the rule book gives a example of follow being kied. It says the vampire tower but the vampire tower says discard a follower

#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 19 July 2013 - 01:00 AM

No, discard doesn't mean the follower died. Mostly because you can create a never-ending loop through some followers (St. Josephine you discard to get back to full lives, discard, revive, discard, revive).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 rated lexxx

rated lexxx

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 20 July 2013 - 04:55 PM

The Valkyrie says you can only do it on the same follower once per turn. This all became confusing when the rule book said followers die at the vampire tower but the space says discard

#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 21 July 2013 - 01:25 AM

Yes, but the discard = death still means barring stealing St. Josephine (also Hieromantyr) away from the Valkyrie, she can never go down to 0 lives, even with once per turn. You'd need an insta-kill effect to take her out.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 Croonos

Croonos

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:43 AM

We had lots of discusion regarding Valkyrie on this forum (also by one of the current game designers Jon New).  So now this can be treat as an official clarification :lol: :

 

Oh, and for those that are having trouble with the wording of the Valkyrie, don't get too hung up on keywords. If you just take a moment to consider what the use of the word "killed" implies, then it will all be fine. A Follower that "shuffles off to the discard pile" or whatever is most likely not killed, though if one is fed to a Vampire or falls down a Chasm, then the chances are that they are most definitely an "ex Follower". 

http://community.fan...ed/?hl=valkyrie

 

To simplify: A follower can be resurrected when:
 1.) Is killed - word "kill" is used on a card or space. 
 2.) Dies to save character from the loss of life - is discarded in that kind of situations
when a Character can lose a life (Hieromartyr, Warewolf Den, Leper, Reaper, Varthax Dragon Rage,Tumbling Boulder).

Discarsed is NOT killed, FFG cleared it here: 
Dragons are proud creatures though, and Singe will leave if he doesn’t think you are strong enough. If an Enemy Dragon defeats you in battle, you’ll have to discard Singe.
http://www.fantasyfl...s.asp?eidn=3870
 

Followers like Warehorse or St. Josephine (which heals a life but not save from it's loss) are not killed.
 

The main important thing which needs a clarification or errata in FAQ is Alchemist character because with the City expansion it can win in a few rounds... I think that trinkets (as small objects) should not been allowed to alchemise.

 



#7 ZeroGrim

ZeroGrim

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 05:55 PM

Would the following be a much simpler way to errata the valkrie?

 

Once per turn per follower you may ignore discarding a follower to an effect that would cause you to discard them, you may not do this if a follower causes you to discard itself or any other follower.

 

that would seem to fix the problems i know about while keeping the rule pretty yes/no airtight.

 

what do you think?



#8 Croonos

Croonos

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 20 February 2014 - 04:11 AM

However, this issue does not apply only to Valkyrie, there are other effects (like Restoration spell) which prevent a Follower from being killed. I think the word "kill" is not so bad itself (better than discard which in the case of this abbility can be overpowered) but it should only be clarified. Let's take followers like the Guardian Angel and Hieromartyr. We play that the first one is discarded and can not be resurrected but the second can becuase it devotes to save character's life. The other one like St. Josephine only heal up to character's life value and then is discarded so in this case there is no question of "killing".


Edited by Croonos, 20 February 2014 - 04:21 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS