Jump to content



Photo

Rules clarification


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Murko

Murko

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 07:20 AM

Hello, i am new to rogue trader space combat, so i have a question. Sorry if it was covered before, but i did not find answer anywhere.

 

When you fire multiple macrobateries in single salvo how to calculate damage? You make single BS test and when you aquire 4 success it means that you hit with both macrobateries 4th times? Can you make an example for me please?



#2 Erathia

Erathia

    Member

  • Members
  • 712 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 05:48 PM

Let's take the basic example. You have 2 Dorsal Mars-Pattern Macrocannons that you elect to fire at the same target. You choose to fire them as a "salvo", granting you a +10 bonus to hit. With a Ballistic Skill of 70, you roll a 30 to get 4 degrees of successes, or 5 shots total. Normally a Mars-Pattern Macrocannon only has Strength 3, but because you are firing two in a salvo, you combine their totals and can thus theoretically score up to 6 hits.

 

Your enemy's void shields absorb 1 shot, but you still have 4 shots get through to cause damage. You then assign these 4 shots to the weapons used in the salvo (irrelevant since they're the same) and roll (1d10 +2) four times. With average rolls, you get a result of 30 which subtracting the target's armour of let's say 12 results in a total damage of 18 from your salvo.

 

Absolutely key point: The number of shots that hit are still equal to Success + Degrees of Success. You do not double or triple the number of shots just because you're firing in a Salvo.


Citizens of Grace! We have defeated both the Dark Eldar and Ork menaces that threatened your system! We need no thanks nor payments, so long as you do not leave the atmosphere during our salvage operations under pain of death! - Jequin Hos of The Hos Dynasty


#3 Murko

Murko

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 01:26 AM

THX so much for reply, you are life saver. And if i have 2 different macrocannons, with different damages? Do I chose, which hits were landed first?

 

I did not find it anywhere in the rules that you get +10 BS when you fire salvo. Can anyone with BS fire macrocannons or is there some requirement like weapon training?

 

And I have one question about evasive maneuver. If I chose to fire first, and then use evasive maneuver do my fire action gets – BS? And may I fire, than move? Or moving first, then firring?



#4 Erathia

Erathia

    Member

  • Members
  • 712 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 08:11 AM

THX so much for reply, you are life saver. And if i have 2 different macrocannons, with different damages? Do I chose, which hits were landed first?

 

I did not find it anywhere in the rules that you get +10 BS when you fire salvo. Can anyone with BS fire macrocannons or is there some requirement like weapon training?

 

And I have one question about evasive maneuver. If I chose to fire first, and then use evasive maneuver do my fire action gets – BS? And may I fire, than move? Or moving first, then firring?

 

Huh, I had thought that was in there but perhaps that was just a house rule we were playing with. The type of salvo mentioned in the book does not include any bonus to shooting, but it does say you can decide to salvo your weapons after you roll damage. Keep in mind that if you salvo you will get through armour easier, but you can only inflict a maximum of one critical hit. If you combine multiple weapons into a salvo then you can allocate what hit when (so the weaker Macrocannon will always, always, always take out the void shields first).

 

On Page 212 near the bottom the rules make it very clear that you are allowed to take actions in whatever order you want, so you may do a bunch of extended actions, do your shooting test and then move. However since Evasive Maneuvers says that both you and your enemies suffer a penalty to Ballistic Tests until the start of your next turn, I would say that if they choose Evasive Maneuvers they HAVE to make their roll to determine how well they're dodging and apply that penalty to their shooting action, but they do not actually have to make their movement until after shooting if they don't want to.


Citizens of Grace! We have defeated both the Dark Eldar and Ork menaces that threatened your system! We need no thanks nor payments, so long as you do not leave the atmosphere during our salvage operations under pain of death! - Jequin Hos of The Hos Dynasty


#5 Routa-maa

Routa-maa

    Member

  • Members
  • 558 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 10:03 AM

@Erathia
You might have mixed it with shooting target at half the weapons range. Then you gain +10 to BS test to hit, and when you are shooting target at futher than weapon range (up to maximum of twice the range) you get -10 to BS tests.
Muutokselle annamme Elämän, Elämälle annamme Muutoksen.

#6 Erathia

Erathia

    Member

  • Members
  • 712 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:15 PM

No, I remember that one. I think it's a rule change we put through to work with the Mathhammer changes.

 

Once you get a hang on the default rules I strongly recommend switching to those.


Citizens of Grace! We have defeated both the Dark Eldar and Ork menaces that threatened your system! We need no thanks nor payments, so long as you do not leave the atmosphere during our salvage operations under pain of death! - Jequin Hos of The Hos Dynasty


#7 Murko

Murko

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 10:00 AM

Thx so much for replies, but i have another question. This one is about moving. Must I move first, than can i turn 90 for frigates and raider and 45 for cruisers? Or can first turn, than make my movement. 



#8 Erathia

Erathia

    Member

  • Members
  • 712 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 11:00 AM

On the same page I mentioned earlier (Page 212 of Core) they mention that ships can take their Extended, Movement and Shooting actions in any order, so on one turn you can move and shoot, then on the next turn you could shoot and move.


Citizens of Grace! We have defeated both the Dark Eldar and Ork menaces that threatened your system! We need no thanks nor payments, so long as you do not leave the atmosphere during our salvage operations under pain of death! - Jequin Hos of The Hos Dynasty


#9 Murko

Murko

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 July 2013 - 06:17 AM

Sorry:-D little missunderstanding here. English is not my native language so maybe i have done some mistake. My question was about turning around 45 degrees or 90 degrees. When ship does its movement and have for example 8 speed. At the begining of the movement phase i move ship 8 or 4 inches or squares, then i can turn ship for 90 or 45 degrees. My question is. Can i first turn my ship for 90 or 45 degrees and then make movement for full or half of movement?



#10 Errant

Errant

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,171 posts

Posted 08 July 2013 - 04:50 PM

Not without the pilot making an Extended test to Come to a New Heading.



#11 Nameless2all

Nameless2all

    Member

  • Members
  • 734 posts

Posted 16 July 2013 - 09:18 PM

Or Adjust Heading.  Page 214-217 RT for all the Extended actions.


For a collection of fan created material, please refer to the link below. Some of it was edited/created by myself and friends, while most is other fan material. Happy gaming people.https://drive.google.com<p>-"May your endeavors always be prosperous, though they may not always be profitable."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS