Jump to content



Photo

Stealth Device wording


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 saiharris

saiharris

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 04:21 AM

It says "If you are hit by an attack, discard it".

 

Right, it seems clear enough in a way.

 

what happens if you are hit by a mine?

I presume an asteroid doesnt count as a hit then?

Does this need more clarity for what is and isnt a potertial attack? Im thinking if this ship is damaged by Darth Vader crew or whatever too... there is quite a lot of non-direct attack methods.

 

Opinions?



#2 pitsch

pitsch

    Member

  • Members
  • 347 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 04:40 AM

It's pretty clear, an asteroid is not an attack, bombs aren't attacks, Darth Vader isn't an attack. The card states if you are HIT by an ATTACK.

A mine will not course you to lose stealth, that is not an attack.

Asteroids also do not attack.

APLs will not take stealth

Stealth is very well written as are the cards. If it does not say Attack or hit, stealth stays on.
Wave 5 ships are up for Pre Order!
http://www.spinninginspace.com/
Anyone in Virginia, DC, MD
https://www.facebook...vaXWingSquadron

#3 TheHunted

TheHunted

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 10:26 AM

Stealth device stays active because the enemy hasn't "seen you" yet. So you're just an invisible idiot running into things.



#4 Buhallin

Buhallin

    Member

  • Members
  • 3,225 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:10 PM

It's not just the "attack" part, it's the "hit" part.

 

Page 12, Compare Results: If there is at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result remaining, the defender is considered hit.

 

I covered it in detail here: http://teamcovenant....stealth-device/

 

The short version is that "hit" explicitly means an attack roll which has at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result.  If it doesn't meet those conditions, it won't remove the Stealth Device.

 

Edit again: For an example on where the "hit" matters vs. just the "attack" part, consider Draw Their Fire.  If a ship with DTF and Stealth uses DTF to suffer a result, it's been damaged during an attack - but it wasn't hit, so the Stealth Device stays intact.


Edited by Buhallin, 03 July 2013 - 01:16 PM.


#5 Bjorn Rockfist

Bjorn Rockfist

    Member

  • Members
  • 621 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:55 PM

This topic = dead horse


Rebel - (4)X-Wing (5)Y (5)A (4)B (3)E (6)HWK-290 (8)Z-95 (3)YT-1300 (3) 2400 (2)GR-75 (1)CR-90 (6)Rebel Aces

Empire - (8)TIE Fighter (4)Advanced (5)Interceptor (6)Bomber (3)Defender (4)Phantom (3)Firespray-31

              (4)Lambda-class Shuttle (4)Imperial Aces (2)VT-49 Decimator

SOONtir - (6)Most Wanted (7)M3-A (4)StarViper (3)Aggressor


#6 Cptnhalfbeard

Cptnhalfbeard

    Member

  • Members
  • 616 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:49 PM

It's not just the "attack" part, it's the "hit" part.

 

Page 12, Compare Results: If there is at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result remaining, the defender is considered hit.

 

I covered it in detail here: http://teamcovenant....stealth-device/

 

The short version is that "hit" explicitly means an attack roll which has at least one uncanceled {Hit} or {Critical Hit} result.  If it doesn't meet those conditions, it won't remove the Stealth Device.

 

Edit again: For an example on where the "hit" matters vs. just the "attack" part, consider Draw Their Fire.  If a ship with DTF and Stealth uses DTF to suffer a result, it's been damaged during an attack - but it wasn't hit, so the Stealth Device stays intact.

 

Also, to that point, if the ship with Stealth is the one that has an uncancelled crit that was taken away by DTF you still lose Stealth, even though you took no damage.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS