• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Esto

Esto

• Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 02 July 2013 - 05:43 PM

An OW encounter says:

"The primitives  are entranced by your equipment. You must discard 1 Common Item worth at least $2 or lose 3 Stamina.

If you pass a Will (+0) check, you convince them to give you their idol in exchange. You may search the Unique Item deck for the Obsidian Statue & take it."

First of all, the Character has no Common Items, so she has to lose 3 Stamina. But she is successful in passing the Will check & obtaining the Statue. Can she use this item immediately to cancel the loss of 3 Stamina or has this loss occurred before she came into possession of the statue with the healing powers? 

#2 No1Sciguy

No1Sciguy

• Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:03 PM

I'm really new at this game too, (only two games :)) but I believe you can't use it that way. The first event occurs first followed by the second. I try to read the cards as literal as possible. To me the idol is given after the loss.

#3 Julia

Julia

I survived Avi's apocalypse

• Members
  • 5,627 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 10:30 AM

Agreed. The idol is given in exchange, this means afterwards. So, no, you can't use Obsidian Statue to recover from damage

We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#4 Wolfgar

Wolfgar

• Members
  • 268 posts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:35 PM

Nope. The only way to make the check is to have the Common item to begin with.

#5 Manishtusu

Manishtusu

• Members
  • 91 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:33 AM

I believe you're getting the statue in exchange for a common item; you lose stamina because if you don't have the shiny, they beat you up instead. So no bartering after that. :)

#6 Julia

Julia

• Members
  • 5,627 posts

Posted 04 July 2013 - 11:26 AM