Jump to content



Photo

Quick rule questions


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 gkothe

gkothe

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:50 AM

hi there,  just played first descent game yesterday, some doubts came up.

When a text says:

"Within 3 spaces",  Is this the same that a range 3? example:

"H" is the hero.

[01][02][03][04][06][07][08]

[09][10][11][12][13][14][15]

[16][17][18][19][20][21][22]

[23][24][25] H  [26][27][28]

[29][30][31][32][33][34][35]

[36][37][38][39][40][41][42]

[43][44][45][46][47][48][49]

wich squares are counted? all of them?

 

 

If an attack hit but cause no damage(good results with armor dice), does a surge like stun still has its effect?

When a character uses a skill abitly etc that can hit multiple enemys, and he rolls 1 surge, he uses the 1 surge to stun, he stuns all the mosnters?

 

Thanks in advance.

Gabriel kothe.

 

 

 



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,633 posts

Posted 28 June 2013 - 02:52 PM

gkothe said:

"Within 3 spaces",  Is this the same that a range 3? example:

Yes, "within 3 spaces" is functionally the same as "within range 3."  There are rules for "counting spaces" outlined in the rulebook (near the attack sequence, IIRC).  You count from one adjacent space to the next, counting the final space but NOT the space the hero is in.  You cannot count through Obstacles.  Anything that breaks adjacency (ie: a closed door) will stop you from counting through it.  However, if Line of Sight is not explicitly mentioned then it is not required, which means you CAN count through other figures and terrain that blocks LoS, as long as it doesn't break adjacency of the spaces you're counting through.

Assuming your example is meant to represent a large open space, all of those spaces are within 3 of the hero in the center.

gkothe said:

If an attack hit but cause no damage(good results with armor dice), does a surge like stun still has its effect?

Conditions (like Stun) require at least one point of damage be dealt.  Other effects do not, unless they say so.

gkothe said:

When a character uses a skill abitly etc that can hit multiple enemys, and he rolls 1 surge, he uses the 1 surge to stun, he stuns all the mosnters?

Yes.  Stun is applied to the attack as a whole, so any affected figures (friendly or enemy) who suffer at least one point of damage will become Stunned.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS