Jump to content



Photo

Campaign "Shadow Rune" question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 thejoker

thejoker

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 10:26 PM

Hi everybody, i have a question about the campaign system in Descent 2

The rule book says "the winner of the prevoius quest will choose the next quest …. player must choose a quest from the current Act"

i have different opinion with my friends about how to choose the next quest 

In my opinion isn't forbidden to choose an act2 quest that doesn't match with the act  quest played, the only rule to remember is that  "If a certain Act 1 Quest was not played during the campaing, it is considered to be won by the overlord for purposes of choosing the corrisponding Act 2 quest"

i try to explain with an example , if i'm an overlord in act2 phase of a campaign can i choose  "the twins idol" even if we haven't played "The Masquerade Ball" ?

What are your opinion?

Thank you !



#2 Hasharin

Hasharin

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 04:38 AM

Thats how mmy friends play although I don't think thats the way your supposed to do it. Mainly because the campaign is supposed to be a linked, themed story. And it kinda ruins the story when you have a random quest that wasnt relevent to what you did in Act 1. This is my opinion but I'm no expert on the rules, i just think that when they say it counts as the overlord winning they say that for the purpose of the interlude and finale because otherwise the story would be all screwed up.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:38 PM

thejoker said:

i try to explain with an example , if i'm an overlord in act2 phase of a campaign can i choose  "the twins idol" even if we haven't played "The Masquerade Ball" ?

What are your opinion?

Yes, you can pick "the Twin Idols" in Act II if "Masquerade Ball" was not chosen in Act I.  You CANNOT pick "Blood of Heroes" in Act II if "Masquerade Ball" was not chosen in Act I, because "Masquerade Ball" counts as an Overlord victory if it wasn't chosen.

To put it another way, you choose 3 out of 5 available Act I quests in Act I, and then after the interlude you pick 3 out of 5 Act II quests in Act II.  There are a total of 10 Act II quests in the campaign, and which 5 are available depend on who won each Act I quest.  The Overlord counts as having won the 2 Act I quests that weren't played.

Thematically speaking, the Overlord has a lot of different things on the go.  The heroes only have time to foil 3 of his 5 plans; the other two are carried out successfully "off screen."



#4 thejoker

thejoker

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:14 PM

Tank you so much and sorry 4 my English :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS