Jump to content



Photo

Whirlwind


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Brasca

Brasca

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 12:34 AM

For the Berserker does Whrilwind and Reach stack?



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,628 posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 03:53 AM

Normally if a hero is weilding a weapon with Reach, that ability would be applicable to any attacks made with the weapon.  However, Reach simply allows you to pick a target space that is two spaces away, instead of adjacent.

In the case of Whirlwind, it specifically says "make an attack targeting all adajcent spaces."  Since the target spaces are dictated by the Whirlwind ability, I would be inclined to say it does not stack.  (Whirlwind + Reach != Sweep + Reach.)  On the plus side, you are targeting every adjacent space, where I'm pretty sure Sweep only affects all adjacent spaces (don't have the cards with the text in front of me.)



#3 Brasca

Brasca

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 05:09 AM

I'm currently playing overlord and would love nothing more than to deny them this combo.  But with you bringing up sweep it really has me reading everything over again and I'm still not sure.  The thing that gets me is the way reach reads in the rulebook. (The Reach keyword allows the figure to use a Melee attack to target a figure up to two spaces away, rather than only adjacent spaces.  The target still needs to be in line of sight.).  So when you combine it with the way whirlwind reads (Perform an attack with a Melee weapon targeting all adjacent monsters.  You make 1 attack roll and each monster rolls defense die seperatly.)  Seeing the way they said melee both times really makes me wonder.  Though I will admt it seems way to strong with how cramped some of these dungeons are.   So at this second my brain sees it like this.  The key difference see between whirlwind and sweep  is that whirlind will still require LoS and hits only monsters, while sweep hits everyone within their range (they all have reach) indiscriminately?    lol man…i don't know, If my logic is faulty please let me know.  DOWN WITH THE HEREOS!!!! :)



#4 Titeman

Titeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 05:14 AM

Adjacent is adjacent. This combo would not work…


--------------------------------------------------
Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup...

#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,628 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:31 PM

Brasca said:

The thing that gets me is the way reach reads in the rulebook. (The Reach keyword allows the figure to use a Melee attack to target a figure up to two spaces away, rather than only adjacent spaces.  The target still needs to be in line of sight.).  So when you combine it with the way whirlwind reads (Perform an attack with a Melee weapon targeting all adjacent monsters.  You make 1 attack roll and each monster rolls defense die seperatly.)  Seeing the way they said melee both times really makes me wonder.

Whirlwind says to make an attack that targets all adjacent spaces.  It does not say to make an attack that targets "all legal spaces you can attack" or any such thing.  In fact, making Whirlwind dependent on which spaces you can legally target would make it virtually useless, since most of the time you can only legally target one space with a melee attack.

Reach increases your options when you are choosing the target of a Melee attack.  Whirlwind makes that choice for you, so having Reach doesn't change anything.

Brasca said:

The key difference see between whirlwind and sweep  is that whirlind will still require LoS and hits only monsters, while sweep hits everyone within their range (they all have reach) indiscriminately?

Sweep still requires LoS to the affected figures (unless I'm gravely mistaken.)  The key difference is that Sweep affects all figures "within range of the attack" (therefore having Reach will extend the area of effect), while Whirlwind targets all adjacent spaces.  Reach doesn't change the definition of "adjacent."

Also, Sweep "affects" figures while Whirlwind "targets" them.  This is an important distinction because some reactionary abilities can only be used when the figure in question is the "target."  (For example, Splig's "Not Me!" ability requires him to be the target of the attack, IIRC.)



#6 Brasca

Brasca

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 June 2013 - 12:41 AM

Oh happy day, I can't wait to hit the heroes with this gigantic nerf bat.  Thanks for clearing this up for me. sonreir






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS