Jump to content



Photo

ES Unseen Forces: Jim Culver ability question


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Groddzilla

Groddzilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 07:23 AM

I just played a game of ES and used Jim Culver.  His ability Strange Luck allows him once per turn to focus or assist even after a roll in which the task was successfully completed.

My question is, should it read "Once per day"  because he can use it to assist, which would happen on other peoples turns.  Or should the assist part be dropped and Strange Luck only works on Jim Culver's turn?

 

 



#2 Vala_Melkor

Vala_Melkor

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 03:51 AM

Hi Grod

Having had a quick read in the Elder Sign pdf rules, I think the wordings right. 

FFG have given an example of JC's ability online …

… but say it's another investegators turn and they get a successful task role with JC on their adventure card, they can use his ability as an assist, only "once per turn" as stated on his card.  Now, say the investigator fails the adventure card, all dice are passed to the next investigator, who can also use JC's ability, "once per turn" … and so on. So it gets used again and again during the day.

  • Requesting Assistance - quick rule ref: Page 11 & 12 (core Elder Sign rules)

Finally, JC would use both focus or assist during his own turn, but only one or the other at the time of the die roll if another investigator was on his adventure card!  

  • Focusing - Quick Rule Ref: Page 10 & 11 (core Elder Sign rules)

This ability is def one of the best in the game! Hope that helps?

Walts


I've seen things you people wouldn't believe... [laughs] Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched cBeams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those... moments... will be lost in time, like [coughs] tears... in... rain. Time... to die...

 


#3 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 11:46 PM

I know this is an old question, but I'm playing him myself right now and I think it's worth noting: "Once per turn" seems to be correct here.  Due to the way movement works in the game, Jim could only stay on an adventure card if he fails his own adventure there.  But his ability could be used on that card if another investigator tries it before his next turn.  Once that adventure is completed, Jim goes back to the entrance, and then is not on another adventure until his own turn.  So no matter what happens, Jim can only help to complete or complete one adventure per cycle of player turns.  I think that this limitation still makes him very valuable, but not so valuable that the ability should read "once per day" or "once per roll" (which would mean only on his own turn).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS