Jump to content


Darrel Simmonds special ability

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 blackshirt



  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 02:34 AM

The photographer, (sorry if I spelt his name incorrectly) he is able to draw two location encounter cards in arkham and pick whichever he would deem beneficial. Now if he lands on a space where you can substitue an encounter for a specific encounter, (Bank, Police Station, Any store) would he be allowed to draw one card from the enounter deck and if it was a bad one instead use the encounter at that specific location?

#2 Julia


    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,479 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 03:06 AM

Nope. Darrell special ability says "When drawing location encounters in Arkham"; location special abilities are used "instead of drawing an encounter". Hence, if you go for the special ability, you don't draw cards, hence Darrell's ability can't be used; if you draw a card, you can't use the special ability of the location, but you are allowed to use Darrell's.

We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Wolfgar



  • Members
  • 334 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 05:48 AM

Yeah. I believe the rule is that technically those special location abilities are not encounters themselves, but rather things done instead of an encounter, so if a rule affects encounters specifically, it does not affect special location abilities unless otherwise specified.

#4 Manishtusu



  • Members
  • 91 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 11:13 AM

There is an investigator who can do just that: Ursula from the Innsmouth expansion.


"Unique Ability: Quick-witted - Arkham Encounter: Ursula may have an encounter at a location even after using a location ability that would normally be taken instead."


#5 Wolfgar



  • Members
  • 334 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 12:48 PM

Yeah. Ursala is especially good for locations that have some good encounters but many bad ones, like the Asylum and the Hospital.

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS