Jump to content



Photo

How do you destroy enemy Space Docks?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 19 May 2013 - 05:06 AM

Hey guys,

I'm new to the game and only just played my first game of TI3 last night.

Anyway, I have been under the impression that Space Docks cannot be destroyed. The reason for this notion is this: They have no attack value, and therefore do not directly participate in a Space Battle. Also, on page 26 of the main rulebook, it states that Space Docks are "under blockade" when enemy ships are present. And why would anyone bother blockading a Space Dock if they are able to destroy it?

However, all that went out the window when it was revealed that there is the existance of a Secret Objective card that refers to destroying Space Docks. So really, how do you destroy them? Or, can they be shot out of the sky just like any other ship?

Thanks! :D



#2 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 19 May 2013 - 05:53 AM

Oops nevermind guys I just found the rule that says they're destroyed when you control the system they are tied to.

 



#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 19 May 2013 - 10:37 AM

Not system. Planet. A system is the whole tile, which can contain from 0 to 3 planets. It might seem nitpicky but in TI3, exact wording is key in making sure that everyone is talking about the same thing. Take "Turn" vs "Round" as an example. A Round consists of three phases, the second of which being comprised of several Turns. If you start mixing The two (Turn & Round) up it can get very confusing, even amongst experienced players.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,609 posts

Posted 20 May 2013 - 03:22 AM

Indeed, as fnoffen says, using exact language is important.

A Space Dock is under blockade when there are enemy ships in the system.  Having enemy ships in the system also means there cannot be any friendly ships in the system, because you can never have ships belonging to two players in the same system without combat occuring.

A Space Dock is destroyed when an enemy player takes control of the planet that dock was connected to, via invasion combat.  If you have Shock Troops (from the Shattered Empire expansion) the invader may be able to capture the Space Dock for himself, instead.

Controlling a system is defined as having at least one ship in the hex and having control of all planets in that system.  Certainly, if you have taken control of an entire system from your opponent, then you will have destroyed any Space Docks he had there, however, it is possible to destroy a Space Dock without controlling the entire system.



#5 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 20 May 2013 - 08:36 AM

Thanks for the additional info regarding Space Docks!

New question: Would that mean that when a Space Dock builds Ground Forces, they are only deployed on the planet the Space Dock is "tied too," not any planet in the system even if you control all planets in that system?



#6 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 20 May 2013 - 10:57 AM

Correct. This is stated in detail on page 26 of the main rules. All ground forces and PDS units are produced and placed on the planet that contains the constructing space dock.



#7 Nehkrimah

Nehkrimah

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:37 PM

I agree. To expand, when you build a Space Dock, you choose a planet for it go onto, and GF, PDS and MU that Space Dock builds have to start out on that planet. They can of course be moved from there as normal later.

So for example if you have a 3-planet system with a SD on one of the planets, when you build GF, they have to go on the planets with the SD, and the next time you activate the system, you can transfer GF around if you have a Carrier or such (Using the normal carry capacity of them of course). This is especially true of PDS as you have the 2 per planet limit so in this case it would take three building sessions to get all of your 6 PDS out on 2 per planet. (Build 2, next activation move those 2 to another planet and build another 2 and so on.)

 

-Nehkrimah



#8 Shadow

Shadow

    Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts

Posted 20 May 2013 - 06:41 PM

All newly built units go on the planet with the space dock. 

Since the movement step is before the production step, a carrier can move units around to make room for your newly built units that are placed on the space dock planet.   But remember fighters must be supported at all times so if your carrier is supporting 6 fighters, you cannot destroy fighters to make room for moving ground troops. 

Exceptions:

Saar's Space dock is in orbit, so Saar can do it.  

Saar can actually put newly produced ground troops on ships or other planets in the system.

 

Also,

An advanced tech called Integrated Economy, read what that can do for you.



#9 Robofish

Robofish

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 04 September 2013 - 06:47 AM

There is an action card that blows up a space dock. Also, a number of action cards and politics cards make a planet go neutral, which would destroy any space dock on it.



#10 Aeonim

Aeonim

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 31 October 2013 - 05:44 AM

Think of Space Docks more as "Space Elevators" than orbital stations.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS