Jump to content



Photo

Blast


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Krawallburste

Krawallburste

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 05:27 AM

Got aquestion about blast and large monsters:

 

Scenario: a Shadow Dragon blocking a 2 spaces wide Tunnel, behind him 2 Goblin Archers. A mage attacks with a blast attack, targeting the shadowdragon. Can he now blast from any space that dragon contains (and affect the goblinarchers, which are normally out of sight), or can he only blast from the space he attacked, which are in line of sight (ergo the first 2 spaces of the tunnel)?

 

urs

 

krawallbürste



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,302 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 06:50 AM

You target a space you can see (and that has an enemy figure, no empty spaces) and Blast from that space. Gobbos behind the SD won't be affected since he can only see the first two spaces of the dragon.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 07:30 AM

I don't think that Blast asks LOS further than the initial target. No need to see the goblins.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#4 ixNine

ixNine

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 09:32 AM

I thought that blasts wouldn't need line of sight seeing as how if he had enough range and the blast radius was large enough to incorporate the goblins behind the Shadow Dragon, the goblins should still receive damage. I imagine it as if an explosion were to occur. If you can't see the explosion but were close enough, you'd still be hurt by it. 



#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,302 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 10:23 AM

But in the example, Blast isn't big enough to hit the Gobbos:

 

GG

SD

SD

SD

XX

XH

With H being the hero, he can only target the bottom two SD spaces, meaning no way GG spaces are hit.


  • Drenos likes this

"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,680 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 01:49 AM

Dam is correct.  An attack must target a specific space, and that space must contain an enemy figure.  The fact that the figure in the target space is a large monster which also occupies other spaces does not allow you to "slide" the blast radius backwards.  It remains centered on the single space you targeted, to which you must have Line of Sight.

You do not require LoS to the spaces adjacent to the target space (all of which are also affected by the attack because that's what Blast does,) however, in this case, all of those spaces are either empty or occupied by the Shadow Dragon.  The Shadow Dragon is, of course, only affected once by the attack, despite occupying three of the adjacent spaces as well as the target space.



#7 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 04:32 AM

Yep.

I mixed things up with fire breath, which can stretch along four squares…avergonzado_alegre


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS