Jump to content



Photo

Recently updated FAQ's v1.2


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 magicWALLIS

magicWALLIS

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 19 April 2013 - 05:22 AM

This question has been ammended on page 2.

 

Q: What happens when a figure is Immobilized during a move action

A: That figure's move action immediatly ends, and that figure's remaining movement points are reduced to 0.

 

My question is: Why did they feel the need to add 'and that figure's remaining movement poits are reduced to 0.' when you cannot move anyway when your immobilized?

 

Or is this in reference to the next FAQ they have newly published?

 

Q: When Immobilized, can a figure use skills and abilities that allow movement not related to a move action?
A: Yes. Any skill or ability that does not refer to performing a move action may be used while a figure is Immobilized. This includes skills or abilities that remove a figure from the map and place it in another space, skills or abilities that allow a figure to move an amount of spaces based upon its Speed, and skills and abilities by which a figure can gain movement points.
 
Rather than clear anything up, I have just found these new 'rules' have muddied the waters.


#2 Morthai

Morthai

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:14 AM

Immobilize only hinders you to gain movement points from move actions or fatigue movement, movement points in the movement pool where before this change untouched, so webtrap had nearly no effect, now if you suffer 5 fatigue on movement and get immobilized on the first step, you cannot move onwards like before this change. (since your remaining movement points are reduced to 0)

same for the second paragraph: Immobilize only hinders to gain movement points, but if you have abilities like Okaluks or Skills that give you points or place you or something similar you still can use them even when immobilized.

looks perfectly clear to me, and the change was nessessary to let have webtrap any actual effect.



#3 magicWALLIS

magicWALLIS

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:23 AM

I might be being a bit stupid, but I don't get the web trap example.  If you fail you your test, your immobilized so cannot move.  Surely it doesn't matter whether your speed is 0 or not.



#4 Morthai

Morthai

    Member

  • Members
  • 174 posts

Posted 19 April 2013 - 09:33 AM

actually reading webtrap would be tech. and actually reading immobilize also

 

Immobilize DOES NOT PREVENT you from using movement points still left in your movement POOL as the immobilize happened before the FAQ



#5 Daegul

Daegul

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 12:17 AM

magicWALLIS said:

This question has been ammended on page 2.

 

Q: What happens when a figure is Immobilized during a move action

A: That figure's move action immediatly ends, and that figure's remaining movement points are reduced to 0.

 

My question is: Why did they feel the need to add 'and that figure's remaining movement poits are reduced to 0.' when you cannot move anyway when your immobilized?

 

I assume that they added this to disallow use of something like Cleansing Touch to enable you to continue your movement using any remaining points.



#6 magicWALLIS

magicWALLIS

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 01:39 AM

Ok. I think I might be getting it now.

They put the 'movement is reduced to 0' because people were arguing they could finish there remaining movement action before they are immobilized?

In which case, I would say "Whats' wrong with common sense?". If your IMMOBILIZED, you cannot move because, you know, your IMMOBILIZED.

Putting that point aside. Another question. How long does your movement remain at 0. Till you lose Immobilized? Or does it just refer to you being Immobilized during your move action?



#7 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,552 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 02:40 AM

magicWALLIS said:

Q: When Immobilized, can a figure use skills and abilities that allow movement not related to a move action?
A: Yes. Any skill or ability that does not refer to performing a move action may be used while a figure is Immobilized. This includes skills or abilities that remove a figure from the map and place it in another space, skills or abilities that allow a figure to move an amount of spaces based upon its Speed, and skills and abilities by which a figure can gain movement points.

This FAQ answer (which was there in the first FAQ too, IIRC) clearly states that an immobilized figure is still allowed to spend movement points to move, provided he can get them from some ability other than a Move action or spending fatigue.

Prior to the addition of the other question you quoted, this meant that an immobilized figure could continue using MPs already in his pool.  But Immobilize also immediately ends your Move action, which debateably removes the remaining MPs that came from said Move action.  This means players need to do math to determine if they have any MPs left or not.  This is unfavourable, so FFG has added a new ruling that all MPs the figure currently has are lost on Immobilize.  No more math, MP = 0.

But the figure can still move if he can gain MPs through an ability which is not explicitly prohibited.  Such are the Rules As Written, and these two FAQ answers taken together make it very clear that this is FFG's intent, and not a perversion of rules lawyers.  Common sense, being the rational and objective application of known rules, agrees with this.

Thematic sense, being the desire to "role play" the Immobilize effect or to "pretend you are your hero" says that the figure should not be able to move at all if he's "immobilized."  If you want to make a house rule about that, you are free to do so.  It's not how the game officially works though.

Just for the record, I totally made a house rule about this at my table. =)  For us, anything that allows you to move without spending MPs (there are a few "teleportation" type abilities in there) are kosher, but anything related to MPs or Speed is out until the condition is gone.



#8 magicWALLIS

magicWALLIS

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 April 2013 - 12:02 AM

OK. Fair Enough. The reason I posted the question was because I always assumed you stopped your movement when you get Immobilized, so the clarification of reducing your movement to 0 served only to confuse me.



#9 Patmox

Patmox

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 21 April 2013 - 09:39 PM

Morthai said:

Immobilize only hinders you to gain movement points from move actions or fatigue movement, movement points in the movement pool where before this change untouched, so webtrap had nearly no effect, now if you suffer 5 fatigue on movement and get immobilized on the first step, you cannot move onwards like before this change. (since your remaining movement points are reduced to 0)

 

The Faq only mentions movement points reduces to zero during a move action, not if you suffered fatigue to move. So if a hero burns 5 fatigue, moves 1 and gets immobilized, he can still use his remaining 4 fatigue to move.



#10 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 21 April 2013 - 10:16 PM

Patmox said:

The Faq only mentions movement points reduces to zero during a move action, not if you suffered fatigue to move. So if a hero burns 5 fatigue, moves 1 and gets immobilized, he can still use his remaining 4 fatigue to move.
Yes. But if movement points were previously added to the movement point pool via fatigue, and not spent yet, they are lost when Immobilize hits the hero during a move action.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,552 posts

Posted 22 April 2013 - 08:29 AM

Patmox said:

The Faq only mentions movement points reduces to zero during a move action, not if you suffered fatigue to move. So if a hero burns 5 fatigue, moves 1 and gets immobilized, he can still use his remaining 4 fatigue to move.

That's not correct, read more carefully.  The FAQ says that the figure's move action ends AND his movement points are reduced to zero.  Two separate things which both happen when immobilized.  It does not say "movement points gained during a move action" are reduced to zero.

Furthermore, I believe there was a statement in the infamous "Adam Sez" thread on BGG about there only being one pool of movement points which all sources feed into.  The player is not obliged to keep track of where each individual movement point came from during play; once it's there, it's there and if that pool is reduced to zero, they ALL go away.



#12 Patmox

Patmox

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 01:41 AM

Steve-O said:

That's not correct, read more carefully.  The FAQ says that the figure's move action ends AND his movement points are reduced to zero.  Two separate things which both happen when immobilized.  It does not say "movement points gained during a move action" are reduced to zero.

The confusion is in the question by asking what happens when a figure is immobilized during a move action. If the intention was to cover any type of movement (such as fatigue movement), the question should have been stated as: while moving.

So, to summarize, in this case the sentence "during a move action" is to be understood in a generic sense and does not refer to the specific move action but covers any means through which a figure would be moving ?

The answer on the other hand is perfectly clear.

 

 

 



#13 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,552 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 12:21 PM

Patmox said:

The confusion is in the question by asking what happens when a figure is immobilized during a move action. If the intention was to cover any type of movement (such as fatigue movement), the question should have been stated as: while moving.

So, to summarize, in this case the sentence "during a move action" is to be understood in a generic sense and does not refer to the specific move action but covers any means through which a figure would be moving ?

 

It wouldn't be the first time that FFG has answered a specific question with a general answer in their FAQs.  If you prefer to interepret it that way, all I can say is I'm glad I'll never play at your table.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS