Photo

How can I get the feel and flavor of the Warhammer world?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 gmanjkd

gmanjkd

• Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:39 PM

Hello all, I have been running wfrp 3rd for the last 7 months and I do not feel that I am doing the world justice.  So, this question is for all of you old timers and or you Warhammer fanatics :-)

What are the top 5 to 10 book you would prescribe for a GM new to the Warhammer World to best educate that GM on on the feel and flavor of a proper wfrp game?  

These 5 to 10 books can be from any of the 3 editions or even novels.

Just to clarify, I am seeking homework so that the next wfrp game that I run will be unmistakenly Warhammer. Not D&D, or Rolemaster, merp or any other world.  I want my game to bleed Warhammer and showcase the world to anyone, newbie or veteran alike.  I want to do the world justice and express the mood and atmosphere that makes wfrp unique.

Thanks for all of your valuable insight.

#2 d6 Evil Men

d6 Evil Men

• Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:51 PM

From Black Library:

Mathias Thulmann, Witch Hunter by C.L. Werner

Warrior Priest by Darius Hinks

Beasts in Velvet by Jack Yeovil

And if you have access to the first edition Enemy Within books, the black and white artwork in those is very evocative.

#3 valvorik

valvorik

• Members
  • 1,951 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:14 AM

Those are good recommendations.  My last blog entry on my (infrequently posted to) blog was about warhammer novels good and bad.

Rob

#4 gmanjkd

gmanjkd

• Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:23 AM

Thanks d6 evil men, I'll check those out.  I've heard great things about the witch hunter novels'

@ Valvorik, what are the 5-10 definitive RPG books from any addition that u would recommend?

#5 valvorik

valvorik

• Members
  • 1,951 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:55 AM

Per the blog: