Jump to content



Photo

Putting wave one and wave two together.


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 hothie

hothie

    Member

  • Members
  • 785 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:35 AM

tinnitus said:

hothie said:

 

Yep, you can use both. 1 bank, Boost 1 bank, then Daredevil is a quick way for Vader to turn around and attack anyone who is tailing him. Plus with PS9, he'll likely attack before the person behind him. Like i said, not the best, but fun. :)

 

 

 

Are you sure? To me this seem like a repetition of the Expert handling discussion. I think the consensus was that Darth couldn't do two barrel rolls in a row. Why should Daredevil differ?

 

On the other hand, there is nothing that keeps Darth from doing a Barrel roll and Boost in sequence. That would be fun.

I pulled the cards out, trying to see if I was mistaken, and trying to understand your argument, and I don't see it. Are you trying to say that performing an action that allows a movement, then performing a different action allowing a completely different movement is equivalent to taking the same action twice? I honestly don't see it. Please explain your case as to how this wouldn't be allowed under the rules.

I can see how performing the Boost action twice is not allowed, or on Turr doing a Barrel roll, then trying to barrel roll after attacking isn't allowed, but I'm not seeing the Boost and Daredevil being the same action argument.



#22 RAGE1073

RAGE1073

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:56 AM

Vorpal Sword said:

 

ForceM said:

 

RAGE1073 said:

 

Best combo ever

Soontir Fel+Push the Limit+Stealth Device= 33pts of awesomeness and 3 actions

 

 

Yeah this is ridiculously over the top but a pure wave 2 combo.

Another one of these is any ship with draw their fire and another one with stealth device, to keep it going longer…

 

It's a bit rules-lawyerey, but I don't think that will work. If I'm flying Fel + Stealth Device, and there's one uncanceled crit remaining after our dice rolls are reconciled, I can have my friend the Black Squadron Pilot +Draw Their Fire take the damage--but I was still the one hit by the attack, regardless of whether I take the damage (and the BSP wasn't hit, despite the fact that he took my crit).

 

 

 

 

 

 

how can it not work? Push the limit clearly says that you can do 1 extra action after doing the first and then you "receive" a stress token.

Soontir reads that you can get a free focus token when you receive a stress token. It never says that it has to happen in a specific time.

so you can do a boost, barrel roll, and get a focus token.



#23 hothie

hothie

    Member

  • Members
  • 785 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 01:59 PM

RAGE1073 said:

Vorpal Sword said:

 

ForceM said:

 

RAGE1073 said:

 

Best combo ever

Soontir Fel+Push the Limit+Stealth Device= 33pts of awesomeness and 3 actions

 

 

Yeah this is ridiculously over the top but a pure wave 2 combo.

Another one of these is any ship with draw their fire and another one with stealth device, to keep it going longer…

 

It's a bit rules-lawyerey, but I don't think that will work. If I'm flying Fel + Stealth Device, and there's one uncanceled crit remaining after our dice rolls are reconciled, I can have my friend the Black Squadron Pilot +Draw Their Fire take the damage--but I was still the one hit by the attack, regardless of whether I take the damage (and the BSP wasn't hit, despite the fact that he took my crit).

 

 

 

 

 

 

how can it not work? Push the limit clearly says that you can do 1 extra action after doing the first and then you "receive" a stress token.

Soontir reads that you can get a free focus token when you receive a stress token. It never says that it has to happen in a specific time.

so you can do a boost, barrel roll, and get a focus token.

I think what he meant was the "keep it going longer" part. Once Fel gets hit, he will lose Stealth, even if the BSP takes the crit due to Draw Their Fire.



#24 tinnitus

tinnitus

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 11:45 PM

hothie said:

tinnitus said:

 

hothie said:

 

Yep, you can use both. 1 bank, Boost 1 bank, then Daredevil is a quick way for Vader to turn around and attack anyone who is tailing him. Plus with PS9, he'll likely attack before the person behind him. Like i said, not the best, but fun. :)

 

 

 

Are you sure? To me this seem like a repetition of the Expert handling discussion. I think the consensus was that Darth couldn't do two barrel rolls in a row. Why should Daredevil differ?

 

On the other hand, there is nothing that keeps Darth from doing a Barrel roll and Boost in sequence. That would be fun.

 

 

I pulled the cards out, trying to see if I was mistaken, and trying to understand your argument, and I don't see it. Are you trying to say that performing an action that allows a movement, then performing a different action allowing a completely different movement is equivalent to taking the same action twice? I honestly don't see it. Please explain your case as to how this wouldn't be allowed under the rules.

I can see how performing the Boost action twice is not allowed, or on Turr doing a Barrel roll, then trying to barrel roll after attacking isn't allowed, but I'm not seeing the Boost and Daredevil being the same action argument.

I stand corrected. It was me not reading the card text properly. I remembered reading Boost action somewhere in it, so my reasoning went from there. But as it is, having access to boost action is just a requirement to be safe from damage - not the actual action.

 



#25 Cid_MCDP

Cid_MCDP

    Member

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 06:49 AM

What about Biggs with say Stealth Device and R2-F2 tanking it up for an Exposing Falcon? 

It ain't cheap, but hells bells, a 4 Attack primary gun with a 360 fire arc? Again, my pants would be absolutely combusting if I said I wasn't going to try it at least once. 

Stick Lando in there and it gets more expensive, but then ol' Biggsy can do a little Focusing as well. 



#26 Endgame124

Endgame124

    Member

  • Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:23 AM

Looking into the Falcon a little more, I'm thinking Chewbacca w/ expose, Dutch, & Garven might make a good 3 ship combo and you still have 5 points for some droids, an ion cannon, or crew.  5 Attack dice at range 1 that can have both target lock and Focus will chew up ships pretty fast.  Or you could go pure synergy and make that squad Garven, Dutch, and Lando and be running everyone with target locks and focus.



#27 Kaxel Vofer

Kaxel Vofer

    Member

  • Members
  • 240 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 01:33 PM

Endgame124 said:

Looking into the Falcon a little more, I'm thinking Chewbacca w/ expose, Dutch, & Garven might make a good 3 ship combo and you still have 5 points for some droids, an ion cannon, or crew.  5 Attack dice at range 1 that can have both target lock and Focus will chew up ships pretty fast.  Or you could go pure synergy and make that squad Garven, Dutch, and Lando and be running everyone with target locks and focus.

It will be a good combo, like you see the Rebels could use more synergy beetwen theys, greettings.


"That the reward for you, don´t be so high".


Kaxel Vofer.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS