Jump to content



Photo

Widow Tarha "Corpse Burst"


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 gaarge

gaarge

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 10:54 PM

"Perform an attack targeting your Reanimate's space with a magic weapon.  This attack gains blast.  You do not need range or line of sight to the space.  After the attack is resolved, the Reanimate is defeated."

I played this card recently to very good effect, but I made a mistake.  I moved my Reanimate so they were adjacent to 4 monsters, and then I used this card, killing two monsters outright.   I had assumed that corpse burst was to be used as an action of the Reanimate and not the Hero.  When I subsequently attempted to make two attacks with my Hero, I was mightily rebuked.  I had missed my chance to attack with my Reanimate, and my Hero had only one action left.  In the end, my remaining action was enough to take out my target monster, who was carrying an item to the exit for victory, and the game was won by our adventurers.  Hurrah!

But back to the point: In principle, I do agree that the action should be that of the Hero.  There are two salient clues.  "With a magic weapon" which a reanimate does not have and "You do not need range or line of sight to the space" which, again, seems to imply the Hero can perform this attack from any location.  Still, in spite of these two strong implications, whoever's action it is - Reanimate or Hero - the card is manifestly unclear.  It does not categorically state who's action is consumed.  One could argue not unreasonably that, since it is the Reanimate who is expending itself, it is his/her/its action.

Anyway, I was curious to know if any other players noticed this point, and how they interpret it.

I would also like to state as an aside, that Widow Tarha is an awesome character.  Lots of flexibility and a heavy hitter.  Can take out whole groups of monsters.



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

The card is a necromancer class card. The Reanimate only can make two actions: one move and/or one attack. So when the necromancer uses one of its cards, it does not count as an action of its reanimate .
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

The card is a necromancer class card. The Reanimate only can make two actions: one move and/or one attack. So when the necromancer uses one of its cards, it does not count as an action of its reanimate .
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#4 Exarkfr

Exarkfr

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:27 PM

There are more hints.

- Reanimate can only make Move actions (as a Familiar) and Attack actions (as its card says). Corpse Burst is neither.

- Corpse Busrt is a Necromancer action. Owned by the Hero. Nothing in the text says it's the Reanimate doing the attack. So it's the Hero who does.

- It costs 1 Fatigue to use. Reanimate has none



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,569 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:16 AM

As Exarkfr says, Corpse Burst is a Necromancer skill card.  Whatever the effects of the card may be, the Necromancer hero is the one who must pay the costs to activate it before those effects can be resolved.  Thus the action (indicated by the arrow icon) and the fatigue must be spent by the Necromancer.

If it was meant to be the Reanimate's action, there would be no arrow icon on the card, and the text would say something like "Next time you activate your Reanimate, you may have it perform XYZ as an action."  That way, the card's text would be overriding the more general rule that says all the Reanimate can do is move or attack (with its one and only equipped weapon), and there would be no action cost to activate the card from Necromancer's side of things.



#6 gaarge

gaarge

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:09 AM

Amigos, thanks very much for lending clarity to the situation.  It is, of course, without doubt, a necromancer action.



#7 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:06 AM

Now, if you activate Mr Bones first, he can make a "traditional" attack before the Necromancer activates and uses its radio-controlled detonator. complice


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS