Clue tokens while fighting Acient One

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Broth32

Broth32

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:06 AM

When the AO (boss) arrives do are investigators able to keep clue token(s) for extra rolls or do you discard them prior to the fight?

#2 Tibs

Tibs

• Members
  • 4,528 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:22 AM

Unless the Ancient One says you discard them, you get to keep them. As normal, they can be spent on skill checks.

Take note of Nyarlathotep. He devours all investigators who begin the fight with no clue tokens!

Also take note that, like money, investigators cannot gain clue tokens during the final battle, at all. This might only be relevant when you have an expansion, but it's an important rule.

#3 Broth32

Broth32

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:51 AM

Thank you for the quick reply.  I'm fairly new to AH (have only played 6-7 times) but why even try to seal gates?  You could just collect all the clue tokens and use them vs. the Acient One.  We have yet to come close to sealing 6 gates  (most we've got were 4)  - so if the doom track is closing in on the A.O. to spwan then is it good strategy to just collect and not spend clue token for additional roles?

#4 Tibs

Tibs

• Members
  • 4,528 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 08:01 AM

This is a touchy subject. You should be sealing gates because it's in the spirit of the game, but more importantly, final combats were supposed to be difficult. For every AO except Nyarlathotep, clue tokens during final combat are somewhat useful. They can be used to help you on your defense check. Since Nyarlathotep attacks your clue supply, one easy way to topple him in combat is to just amass a load of clues. Something else that could be done (against ANY AO: even Physically Immune ones) is that you could dump all your clues into a single attack with the Shotgun, since 6s rolled count as two hits.