Jump to content



Photo

The Trench Run - Rules Question


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#41 Saej

Saej

    Member

  • Members
  • 96 posts

Posted 14 July 2013 - 02:29 AM

Stepping away from the whole debate about what the dial not being an objective means... this thing needs errata for another issue.  "This enhancement cannot be targeted" needs to become "this enhancement is not affected by the effects of any other card," because Turbolaser Battery exists.


Maybe they mean to do it that way? The turbolaser looks like it is one from the Death Star...

#42 Magni

Magni

    Member

  • Members
  • 350 posts

Posted 14 July 2013 - 06:52 AM

When your trying to figure out how to play with trench run ask yourself this.

 

Does interpreting the rules this way make trench run a playable card?  If yes, then your misinterpreting the card and use the opposite ruling for the duration of play.

 

FFG designed a card that broke a lot of rules for relatively no reason... out side of RP.  The card adds a lot of confusion because we interpret most cards literally were in this card because of the "it is but its not" condition we have to go through each scenario and ask ourselves does this apply to 1 pool or the other.  Its a bad card though, dont play with it and that solves a lot of the rule issues.

 

Magni 

 

It feels good under my bridge right now, nice damp and out of the sun.


+++ Engagement: Resolve Strikes +++

magni strikes with greedo for 2 unit damage to Han Solo and 1 Blast Damage.


#43 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,289 posts

Posted 14 July 2013 - 08:08 AM

I can't speak for the proofing team or the Hoth playtest team, but I don't think we have any reason to believe that Turbolaser Battery's ability to take out a take out Trench Run is a mistake.

Interesting side note: redeploying Trench Run works in that case as the damage tokens are on the dial and not the enhancement card.
  • Toqtamish likes this

#44 PBrennan

PBrennan

    Member

  • Members
  • 184 posts

Posted 14 July 2013 - 09:13 AM

Yep, I'd say Turbolaser Battery is written exactly as it's intended.

 

As the meta evolves away from core, Trench Run becomes more and more a carnival card (if it didn't start that way anyways) - there for the fun of it, not so much the serious.


  • Toqtamish likes this

#45 BoardGames.BG

BoardGames.BG

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 15 July 2013 - 06:06 AM

I'm more interested to have a clear ruling for the Wookiee Navigator, as the card doesn't go to the extent of clarifying if we can engage the Dial again - if it is considered objective during the engagement for the terms of engaging an objective, there is no ruling that can stop you from engaging it twice due to WN's effect, as it will be still considered objective for the terms of engaging it a second time - the reaction will kick before the end of the engagement (before Engagement end window).

 

Wookiee Navigator

Reaction: After this unit survives an engagement as an attacker, you may engage this same objective an additional time this phase.


Edited by BoardGames.BG, 15 July 2013 - 06:06 AM.


#46 PBrennan

PBrennan

    Member

  • Members
  • 184 posts

Posted 15 July 2013 - 07:58 AM

This was asked directly to Nate (the following courtesy of Jason Blakeney at BGG):

 

Rule Question:
A friend of mine was wondering whether Trench Run enables him to attack the Death Star dial more than one time per turn. Since the dial is not an objective, does the limitation still apply?

Nate's Response:

Once per turn.

You engage the dial as if it's an objective, so all restrictions on engaging an objective apply to engaging the dial as well.

Follow-up Rule Question:

Actually, as an after thought, does this mean that Wookie Navigator can actually attack it twice?

Nate's Response:

No. The Wookiee Navigator Reaction triggers and looks for "the same objective." Since the dial is not an objective, as per the text on Trench Run, the reaction effect finds no valid means of resolving.


  • 4wallz likes this

#47 BoardGames.BG

BoardGames.BG

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:30 AM

Thank you very much, it makes sense :)



#48 Pima

Pima

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:52 AM

Sorry for necromantic, but does all above means, that Shield cannot be applied to Death Star dial by units with "Shield"?



#49 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 2,995 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:54 AM

Sorry for necromancy, but does all above means, that Shield cannot be applied to Death Star dial by units with "Shielding"?

 

The dial is not an objective so you are correct.



#50 Pima

Pima

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 09:56 AM

Thank you very much :) .


  • Toqtamish likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS