I always have the same question when playing a match. Somebody asked it before in the "FAQ Questions-Topic" but didn't got an answer.
So I just post his question again, because it is the same I would like to know and I think that his english is a better one.
The Litari Elves unit card reads: When Played: Refresh one city or stronghold you control. If I had 3 elves in my hand and there was nothing on the field for me to attack successfully, but there were some uncaptured neutral cities (with a defense of say 4 or more) could I play the elves as if i were attempting to take control of the city, knowing full well I don't have enough of an army to actually take the city, but just to use the elves for their "When Played" ability. There is no consequence in the book for failing to take control of a neutral city that's still in the central play area, and there is no written word that says i cannot attempt to take said city with too small of an army. So in my mind… as a strategy for the elves… instead of discarding the three elves that i cannot use to take over any thing else, why not just utilize them for their When Played ability by declaring a capture of a neutral city. Yes? No?
Sr. that I take the same text without asking the other user. So many cards have useful "when played" abilities I would like to use. For example the ability of the dwarfen unit "Forge Master" which reads "When Played: Reveal the top 2 cards of your deck. Draw 1 revealed Gold card into your hand and discard the remaining card(s). And so on.
Many thanks for the answers and sorry if the question was asked before and I didn't find it in the forum.