I have a question about the Reanimate as well:
- Does the Reanimate activate on the same turn it has been summoned?
We've been playing assuming it does, making Fury of Undeath really strong, as the Reanimate then gets to move and attack twice each turn, even if it was destroyed on the previous turn (providing the Necromancer has the stamina to spend on it).
However, I've started to doubt the "activate on the same turn as you summon" -rule, firstly because it makes him more powerful than almost any other DPS character currently in my running game, and secondly because I started digging around for the rules.
These are, apparently, official rule fixes:
Among these fixes is the following:
Q: Can the Necromancer activate his Reanimate familiar at the start of his
turn, voluntarily destroy it, spend an action during his turn to create a new
Reanimate familiar, and then activate this new Reanimate at the end of his
A: No, a familiar can only be activated once per round. Even though the
Reanimate was removed and placed again, it is still the same familiar.
On the other hand "Fury of Undeath" reads as follows:
Exhaust this card to activate your Reanimate. Your Reanimate still activates this turn as normal.
If you indeed can only activate him once, the wording on the card is really misleading, and its only use would be to enable the Reanimate to activate on the same turn as it has been summoned.
So…. which is it? Only once or twice?
EDIT: I just read the cards again. It could, I guess, also be interpreted as follows:
"Reanimate: This familiar is treated as a figure but cannot recover any amount of hp. It may perform 1 attack action during it's activation. Each attack made by this familiar gains: Surge = +1 hp"
"Fury of Undeath: Exhaust this card to activate your Reanimate. Your Reanimate still activates this turn as normal."
Activates as normal = only 1 attack per activation (turn)?