Jump to content



Photo

Righteous fury rules questions


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 Crimsonsphinx

Crimsonsphinx

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 07:57 PM

Hi Everyone,

As a long time player of Warhammer fantasy roleplay I am familiar with how Ulrics/Righteous fury work in normal circumstances, but I have a couple of questions when the dice get a bit more complicated.

So to my questions;

If a gun rolls 2d10 or more for damage, and both come up with tens, do you roll once or twice for the extra damage?

If a weapon does d5 damage, does it fury on just a 10, or a 9 and 10?

Can psychic powers cause righteous fury?  My guess is yes if they roll to hit, but no otherwise due to the rules on this.

Do npcs/enemies get righteous fury?

 



#2 sarunea

sarunea

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 11:29 PM

Hello,

"If a gun rolls 2d10 or more for damage, and both come up with tens, do you roll once or twice for the extra damage?"

In my opinion you reroll once. It's a plus with a 2d10 damage weapon, you have double chance to have an 0.

"If a weapon does d5 damage, does it fury on just a 10, or a 9 and 10?"

don't know i do on 10 only.

"Can psychic powers cause righteous fury? My guess is yes if they roll to hit, but no otherwise due to the rules on this."

For me Yes you can make a WillPower to valid the first roll.

"Do npcs/enemies get righteous fury?"

Yes they can for boss or strong one, in fact they have destiny point too equal to their willpower bonus.

S

 



#3 KommissarK

KommissarK

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,499 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 05:30 AM

The rules for RF specifically state that when the d10 rolled for damage has a "10" on its face is when you threaten Righteous Fury. (so this answers the d5 weapon question)

For multiple d10 weapons, you still only roll to confirm once for any distinct hit (full auto weapons are scary for this, as each of those hits could possibly cause a Righteous Fury).

For NPCs, as stated earlier, its mainly on for the Big Bads. Technically, its anyone who has the "Touched By The Fates" trait, which gives them Fate Points.

 

As far as psychic powers, I'm in a minority here, but I recognize that RAW in the book they do not, but that some developers have answered rules questions saying that they do (with a confirmation roll of whatever it takes to manifest the power).

The reason I say they do not is specifically because the RF rules state you only threaten RF as a result of any damage that came about from an attack made using a WS or BS roll. Not a power manifestation, not an opposed Willpower test (looking at force weapons). Personally I feel they do enough damage anyway that they don't really need RF. Once again though, most people are going to say this does threaten Righteous Fury, and they're not necessarily wrong.



#4 Phi6891

Phi6891

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:31 AM

KommissarK said:

The reason I say they do not is specifically because the RF rules state you only threaten RF as a result of any damage that came about from an attack made using a WS or BS roll. Not a power manifestation, not an opposed Willpower test (looking at force weapons). Personally I feel they do enough damage anyway that they don't really need RF. Once again though, most people are going to say this does threaten Righteous Fury, and they're not necessarily wrong.

No they don't state it in the core rule book but it was answered somewhere before that to confirm a RF with a psychic powers is to roll the same dice that you used to manifest the power and make the powers threshold again, just like rolling the percentile dice for WS or BS a second time to confirm their RF. So if you used 1 die to manifest a power and you get a RF with it, then you roll only 1 die again to make the PT and if you do then have a confirmed RF then.



#5 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,628 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 12:26 PM

If you accept later games to qualify as Erratas or rules clarifications, then it's RAW as per Black Crusade at least. I believe it has also been handled as a Rules Question answered by the devs here somewhere, and the ruling was that yes, damage dealing powers cause Righteous Fury.


Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#6 Crimsonsphinx

Crimsonsphinx

    Member

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 09:03 PM

Thanks for the replies.  I thought the d5 one would be 10 only, but I thought I would see what other players did.

WIth psychic powers, I had always allowed righteous fury if the players spells required them to hit with a ballistic skill test [since that is what the rules suggest] but allowing them to test on willpower sounds a fair substitute.

 

 



#7 BrotherKane

BrotherKane

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 02:35 AM

I think it is worth noting that on a tearing weapon if both D10s came up 10 I would make the player roll for each RF confirmation.



#8 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,628 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 02:43 AM

You would be using a house rule, in that case.

The Rules As Written state that if any of the rolled dice (meaning 1 or more) come up as 10, then there is a chance of Righteous fury.

More dice mean more chance, but you still only check once to confirm, and only roll 1 additional die. 

Even if you rolled 5 10s with your lascannon, you'd still only get to confirm once, then add 1 single d10.


Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#9 BrotherKane

BrotherKane

    Member

  • Members
  • 229 posts

Posted 25 September 2012 - 10:23 PM

Huh, I'll re-read that bit then.  I always treated the tearing dmg rolls as totally separate posibilitiies.



#10 Madok

Madok

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:20 AM

 I'll just borrow your thread for a related question, so if my BS is 30 and I need to confirm a righteous fury, I need to roll a 30 or less right, but what if I have bonuses like the Aim Action, pointblank/close range bonus and a semi/auto burst bonus? Do I still have to beat the 30? or the bonuses apply to confirm the hit too?



#11 Madok

Madok

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:20 AM

 I'll just borrow your thread for a related question, so if my BS is 30 and I need to confirm a righteous fury, I need to roll a 30 or less right, but what if I have bonuses like the Aim Action, pointblank/close range bonus and a semi/auto burst bonus? Do I still have to beat the 30? or the bonuses apply to confirm the hit too?



#12 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,628 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 08:03 AM

While the text in Dark Heresy is not precise, the text used in Rogue Trader and later versions of the 40K rules say:

"This calls for a second attack roll that is identical, all modifiers included, to the original attack.


Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#13 Madok

Madok

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:58 AM

 Another little doubt about damage, sorry if its OT, when someone shoots in full or semi auto, each degree of success grants damage equal to the weapon's damage right? IE: an Autogun would do 1d10+3 for each "bullet"?



#14 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,628 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:21 PM

Yes, that's right. And the Targets Armour and Toughness (referred to as Soak) is subtracted from each one. 


Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#15 PhilOfCalth

PhilOfCalth

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 27 March 2014 - 07:21 AM

"Do npcs/enemies get righteous fury?"

Yes they can for boss or strong one, in fact they have destiny point too equal to their willpower bonus.

S

 

For NPCs, as stated earlier, its mainly on for the Big Bads. Technically, its anyone who has the "Touched By The Fates" trait, which gives them Fate Points.

 

It seems that I have been running this wrong forever! Can you find me a page number for this as I looked at the rules for righteous fury this morning and didn't see anything about it only being for PCs or for those with fate points



#16 johniemi

johniemi

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 March 2014 - 03:48 AM

(Bold emphasis by me)

 

pg. 28 "Acolytes are unique individuals that are destined to do the Emperor’s
work. Fate represents this special destiny
that sets them aside from
the teeming masses of humanity."

 

pg. 185 "All Player Characters begin play with a number of Fate
Points. The number of Fate Points a character receives is
decided during character creation. Fate Points are what
separates Acolytes from the ordinary people of the Imperium. PCs
have destinies and the Emperor has marked them for greater things.
"

 

Also when you look at critter entries in Creatures Anathema and other books, there is no mention of Fate Points in the critter stats. But I do remember seeing a few NPC's in some of the books stating they have a determined number of Fate Points. Thus all this points to the fact that mainly only the PC's have Fate Points and some key NPC's might have a few as well. This is actually in line of many other gaming systems, such as Pathfinder (Hero Points) and D&D (was it Action Points?) where the PC's are given a chance to use points to augment or change the roll instead of just killing off the character due to one bad roll but critters and NPC's are "out of luck" :)


Edited by johniemi, 30 March 2014 - 03:49 AM.


#17 Lynata

Lynata

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,847 posts

Posted 30 March 2014 - 05:33 AM

But I do remember seeing a few NPC's in some of the books stating they have a determined number of Fate Points.

 

Yeah, there's a specific "Touched by the Fates" NPC talent, iirc?

 

Just like the Attack modifiers, Fate Points as well as Righteous Fury seem to be different in almost each of the games, and I suppose it would be possible to "assimilate" a newer version if you don't like the DH original. That's something everyone will have to decide for themselves, though - not everyone thinks the newer versions are truly superior, anyways.


current 40k RPG character: Aura Vashaan, Astromancer Witch-Priestess
previous characters: Captain Elias (Celestial Lions Chapter -- debriefed), Comrade-Trooper Dasha Malenko (1207th Valhallan Ice Warriors -- KIA), Sister Elana (Order of the Sacred Rose -- assassinated), Leftenant Darion Baylesworth (Rogue Trader Artemisia -- retired), Taleera "Raven" Nephran (Hive Ganger & Inquisitorial Assassin -- mindwiped)

#18 PhilOfCalth

PhilOfCalth

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:04 AM

I asked the same question on darkreign. The fact that righteous fury is only for PCs is only true of DH 1e. It's in the main rulebook pg. 195 (sidebar). You need to go to the bottom of the example. The text is still in the same italics as the example, that's how I missed it.

 

I thought to myself, this is an easy concept, I don't need to read the example to understand completely *WRONG* The example contains more crunch. I'm sure it was a mistake in editing.



#19 Cymbel

Cymbel

    Member

  • Members
  • 735 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 07:04 PM

The simplest way is "If they have fate, they can righteous fury"


  • Green Knight and Lynata like this

#20 bogi_khaosa

bogi_khaosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,071 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 06:54 AM

If you accept later games to qualify as Erratas or rules clarifications, then it's RAW as per Black Crusade at least. I believe it has also been handled as a Rules Question answered by the devs here somewhere, and the ruling was that yes, damage dealing powers cause Righteous Fury.

 

Black Crusade has a very different RF mechanic, though.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS