Jump to content



Photo

Post your questions for the next FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#21 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 03:54 AM

Thanks guys, I consider all your suggestions, keep these things in mind…

If I don't make a change you suggest it is not necessarily because I don't agree with it, but because I think the Devs willl overrule it anyway.

Many of these answers are based on previous statments from FFG.

 

I'm going to go and make the best changes I can, and post an updated version, later today. Thanks again.



#22 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 04:17 AM

I've decided to make most of the changes suggested here…

Except, the ruling on the Medals, because I don't want to set a precident for using an item "randomly outside of the owners activation", for fear that this would create further issues in the future.

And I don't feel that it changes gameplay much, if you feel you need those CP at the begining of your turn, you'll just have to activate the character with them first.

If there are no other suggestions I'll forward this to FFG later this week.

Here's the new version, with better readability…

https://docs.google....NVMzQXBlZ1RCNFk

Remember to download the original for best quality.

 



#23 ??!

??!

    Member

  • Members
  • 513 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 05:03 AM

I can only repeat: It's great! And I think you are right about the Medals, by the way. If they could be used at any time outside the character's activation, they'd be a lot more powerful, probably would cause some difficult interaction with other characters or tokens and (most importantly) they could probably be used to get reinforcements in 2 CP games where there shouldn't be reinforcements.



#24 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 10 July 2012 - 07:31 AM

??! said:

I can only repeat: It's great! And I think you are right about the Medals, by the way. If they could be used at any time outside the character's activation, they'd be a lot more powerful, probably would cause some difficult interaction with other characters or tokens and (most importantly) they could probably be used to get reinforcements in 2 CP games where there shouldn't be reinforcements.

This is where we agree to disagree.

The whole point of being able to use them out of the activation is to use them to shake off wounds when out of normal cps or bring reinforcements in 2 cp games. There is currently a couple of ways to bring reinforcements on these games, the call in the troops bonus token and irinas holy comisaar token.

I have played both with and without this interpretation and yet found no clash with any other token or rule using mine, so this would not be an issue (imho) there are other tokens that have effects out of the activation like reichdoktor without crashing with any other rule, I just have never come across any conflict playing it this way, at all.

The real discussion is around balance. 

Eva gets more powerful with my interpretation of the rules but she is not the strongest of the characters, usually dropped in favor of yula or hoss, this gets her more chance to appear in a roster.

Mc Neal gets definitely better with my interpretation specially against a team with hoss with command pack, as he grants back the ability of taking reinforcements to his team, anything that nerfs hoss is good (imho)

 



#25 ??!

??!

    Member

  • Members
  • 513 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 01:05 AM

Miah999 said:

I don't want to set a precident for using an item "randomly outside of the owners activation", for fear that this would create further issues in the future.

Moebius, as you have actually played the Medals both ways and have never encountered any problems, I accept your experience of course. Yet I still think Miah's got a point here. Tokens that can be used outside of their owners activations should specifically say so and/or name specific conditions or situations when they may be used.



#26 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 02:49 AM

??! said:

Miah999 said:

 

I don't want to set a precident for using an item "randomly outside of the owners activation", for fear that this would create further issues in the future.

 

 

Moebius, as you have actually played the Medals both ways and have never encountered any problems, I accept your experience of course. Yet I still think Miah's got a point here. Tokens that can be used outside of their owners activations should specifically say so and/or name specific conditions or situations when they may be used.

Agreed, I think the tokens should be "errata-ed" and added a sentence on when to use them.My proposal:  "You may activate this ability as a command point ability."

I think that it clearly specifies a concrete set of moments during the game: To be precise, any moment when a CP might be spent, for whatever reason.



#27 Colgrevance

Colgrevance

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:31 PM

 Is it possible to "chain" overwatch attacks? I.e., can I interrupt an OW with an OW of my own?

Is Tala's equipment card for the TNR 440GR stating FOUR automatic attack successes (instead of five) a misprint?



#28 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:52 PM

Your second answer is alredy in the FAQ and yes it's a mistake.

I'll look in to your first question.



#29 ??!

??!

    Member

  • Members
  • 513 posts

Posted 14 July 2012 - 01:17 AM

Colgrevance said:

 Is it possible to "chain" overwatch attacks? I.e., can I interrupt an OW with an OW of my own?

I don't think this would be possible. The point is, an overwatch attack interrupts the active character's activation if certain conditions are met. The target of the overwatch attack has to be the activated character. A character that does an overwatch attack is not the active character and is not even activated, so he could never be the target of an overwatch attack. The rules about placing a character on overwatch specify that this character won't get an activation. That's why I'd say no targeting a character on overwatch with overwatch attacks.



#30 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 16 July 2012 - 04:02 AM

Just to let everyone know I've forwarded the FAQ we've developed here to FFG; it all in their hands now.



#31 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:48 PM

A couple of additional questions (for a next FAQ version maybe).

Can Trench gun push a character through a friendly character? (if pushed 2 spaces)

Does a fire grenade trigger a volatile circle?



#32 Tobilee

Tobilee

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:42 AM

Can the Sten Mark 2 be used like a normal automatic gun?

I mean if it is an automatic weapon , but it also has the ability to attack again in the same activation (like if you were using an extra ammunition token with it) and then discard it.

This is similar to the happo question.



#33 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 03:19 AM

The Sten can only be used by discarding it.



#34 Moebius

Moebius

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:03 AM

Hi

I disagree with Miah, if that was the case it would be almost like a extra ammo token. To be consistent with other rulings that support that the abilities in the text are in addition to the abilities granted by the description (happo for example) the actual use should be, as a normal automatic weapon that in addition to that it can be fired a second time in a turn but discarding it afterwards.



#35 Tobilee

Tobilee

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 October 2012 - 09:59 AM

That is how I understand the token too.



#36 JK JoKeR JK

JK JoKeR JK

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 December 2012 - 06:19 PM

How about a question discussed here? 

http://www.fantasyfl...=551250&efpag=0



#37 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 25 December 2012 - 08:04 PM

I really don't want to resurect this old argument but…

Page 10 clearly lays out activations, which direcly effect the Overwatch situation disccused in the above topic. In the discused topic, the OP set up a situation in which a character begins their turn on the same path as a character on Overwatch, but then erroniously assumes that this character can simply choose to do nothing, which in TH they cannot.

All characters must activate, and when activated they must move or act, or some combo there of. So in this case the Overwatch character will at some point get a chance to attack the character that began the turn on their path, at least in the example dicused, it would take too long to lay out all the posibilties.

 

Here are the activation rules from page 10, as you can see there is no option to either not activate a character, or for an active character to do nothing.

4. Activate Characters

During this step, players alternate activating their characters. The player who has initiative goes first. If one player runs out of characters to activate (frequently because some of his characters have died, or are on overwatch), his opponent activates the rest of his characters one after the other. When his turn to activate a character comes, a player may choose to activate any character on his side who has not been activated yet and is not on overwatch. When activated, a character can move (see “Moving” on page 17) and take one action (see “Actions” on page 18). Taking an action is also known as acting.

During an activation, a character performs one of the following:

Move and then act.

Act and then move.

Move, then act, then move some more.

Move without taking an action.

Act without moving.

Hope all that helps.



#38 Gaffophone

Gaffophone

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 25 December 2012 - 08:23 PM

I am sorry but I think the activation is not something you MUST do. If you read the rules you have quoted, the terms used are MAY and CAN, not MUST.



#39 Miah999

Miah999

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,143 posts

Posted 26 December 2012 - 04:46 AM

Per my conversations with Andrew Meredith (one of the developers) you cannot simply skip your turn, and all characters must activte at least once per turn.

If you were allowed to just stand there you could simply wait around doing nothing for turn after turn and that could get really unfair, not to mention boring.

Standing around is just not in the spirt of the game or the rules.



#40 Gaffophone

Gaffophone

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 26 December 2012 - 05:40 PM

I agree, this is not the spirit but sometimes, especially with games of this kind with infiltration for example, it could be "justified", you see what I mean.

And nothing in the rules prooves that you can't stay still.

In fact I think this is because I used to play a lot with the 1st version of the french rules which did not include the Overwatch. I will have to change my mind I guess ;-)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS