Q1) Can you please clarify the passive ability of Malocchio (Terror in Venice, F33), which reads:
"For each type of icon on a character card in any discard pile, Malocchio gains 1 icon of that type."
If I have one character in my discard pile, Ghoulish Worshipper (Forgotten Lore, F19) with 2x Terror and 1x Combat, and my opponent also has one character in their discard pile, Norman Blackwood, Jr. (The Key and the Gate, F42) with 1x Combat, 1x Arcane and 1x Investigation, how many icons does Malocchio have?
I assume he can only choose the icons of one (i.e. "a") character at a time, and he only gets one instance of each type, so if Ghoulish Worshipper was targeted then Malocchio would have 1x Terror and 1x Combat - correct?
If so, can Malocchio change the targeted character? For instance, could he change to targeting Norman Blackwood, Jr. after the Terror struggle is resolved, so the Malocchio then has 1x Combat, 1x Arcane and 1x Investigation for the remaining struggles?
Malocchio gains one instance of an icon if it is present on any character in any dead pile. Regardless of how many times those icons actually appear, as long as there is a minimum instance of one, Malocchio gains one of that type.
I'm surprised that the term "a character" actually refers to 'all characters' in any discard pile, for Malocchio, but thanks for clarifying.
It’s a matter of realizing what it is looking at which is the icons. Because it is non-targeted it is looking at any icon on a character in a discard pile that possesses an icon it does not already have.
Q2) Can you also please clarify whether this passive ability would be active if Malocchio became an attachment to Richard Upton Pickman, Venerable Ghoul (Dreamlands, F97), which reads:
"Richard Upton Pickman gains the icons of each attached Ghoul character.
If Richard Upton Pickman would be wounded, you may discard an attached Ghoul character instead.
Action: Pay 2 to attach a Ghoul character to Richard Upton Pickman from your hand or discard pile."
The FAQ, in (1.15) Attaching Cards Through Card Effects, states:
"When a card becomes attached to another card due to a card effect, that card is now considered a support card (regardless of its normal type) with the Attachment subtype. For the purpose of all other card interactions (excluding interaction with the card that initially caused the attached condition), the card loses all of its original characteristics (such as skill value, icons, and type). The card retains its faction identity and printed cost."
If, as stated, an attached character loses its icons, then Richard Upton Pickman could never gain icons, so I presume this invokes a golden rule?
However, if it is only the faction identity and printed cost that is retained, then presumably the text box (including any passive and/or triggered abilities) is lost? In which case, regardless of the golden rule, Malocchio cannot use his passive ability to gain any icons from a character in a discard pile, and in turn Richard Upton Pickman, Venerable Ghoul cannot gain any icons from Malocchio?
Malocchio gains his icons through his text ability which as a support card is not active so he is unable to gain any additional icons. Richard Upton Pickman’s text directs it to look at what current icons its attached ghouls posses, and gains those, that will usually mean printed unless there is another active effect that is giving an attached ghoul icons.
Hope that helps.
Thanks also for confirming that text boxes are also included in the "original characteristics" that are lost when a character becomes an attachment, preventing Malocchio from gaining any icons as an attachment; while also affirming that Richard Upton Pickman, Venerable Ghoul would present a Golden Rule scenario for other Ghoul cards, to gain their (printed) icons - which unfortunately Malocchio lacks - that are otherwise lost when [a character becomes] an attachment.