Jump to content



Photo

Comprehensive FAQ project


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#41 14cross

14cross

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 06 October 2009 - 03:21 AM

DarkPadawan said:

(Optionally) ignoring a retreat flag is a side effect of being bold but not a prerequisite for a battle back.

A defending unit has to fulfill two requirements to be entitled a battle back:

  • the unit has to be bold for whatever reason (inherent, support, landmark, lore card, ...)
  • the unit has not moved from the hex it occupied at the start of this particular battle.

Dark.

You know, I haven't been playing it that way but is was always the way I thought it should be. You should be able to battle back not just when you ignore a rolled black flag but any time you are not moved from your hex.



#42 dvx515

dvx515

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 October 2009 - 08:26 AM

ok, perfect!

 

thankyou!!!



#43 sirvolkar

sirvolkar

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 30 October 2009 - 06:10 AM

14cross said:

DarkPadawan said:

 

(Optionally) ignoring a retreat flag is a side effect of being bold but not a prerequisite for a battle back.

A defending unit has to fulfill two requirements to be entitled a battle back:

  • the unit has to be bold for whatever reason (inherent, support, landmark, lore card, ...)
  • the unit has not moved from the hex it occupied at the start of this particular battle.

Dark.

 

 

You know, I haven't been playing it that way but is was always the way I thought it should be. You should be able to battle back not just when you ignore a rolled black flag but any time you are not moved from your hex.

In that case you're going to love the Battle Savvy rules, which do precisely that and allow all units to Battleback as long as they survive and remain in their hex - i.e. they ignore the first requirement listed above.  The advantages of Bold and Ignores One Flag type effects are that a unit that is Battle Savvy is far more likely to stay and fight than one that is not :)



#44 Elberon

Elberon

    Member

  • Members
  • 227 posts

Posted 17 November 2009 - 01:15 PM

Will the compendiums be translated / done in English?  My German is pretty rusty and really wouldn't cope with going through the excellence you've created...

 

Chris



#45 Doom314

Doom314

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 December 2009 - 03:43 PM

Apologies, I can't seem to get the search to work for me.

 

What is the official ruling for Fireball (the lore spell that costs 10) versus Giant Spider.

 

If the fireball 'hits' with a lore roll, is the Spider removed from the board? Does it count as just a hit (and thus requiring a reroll to be critically hit)?

 

Thanks...the game is at a standstill until we know.



#46 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 01 December 2009 - 05:15 PM

The spider is removed - fireball is a creature killer.  Good reason to take a level 3 wizard if one suspects going against a creature.



#47 Snak

Snak

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 02 December 2009 - 12:30 AM

Hello.

I was just wondering if there would be a Command Card Compendium. It would be great and wouldn't take much time, since only Tactic Cards need to be clarified.



#48 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 02 December 2009 - 03:31 PM

The command cards are pretty straightforward and unlike the lore cards, don't interact with other actions already in motion on the board - don't really require a compendium, in my opinion.  Which do you have questions about?



#49 Doom314

Doom314

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 December 2009 - 06:36 PM

Thanks much...still going through the basic game, so knowing whether or not a creature is involved is pretty certain.



#50 Snak

Snak

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:59 PM

todd, I'll ask you when I have some.

I'll put together my doughts on Command Cards and show you.



#51 Mig el Pig

Mig el Pig

    Member

  • Members
  • 149 posts

Posted 04 December 2009 - 02:06 AM

Cliffs
Q: If friendly units are adjacent but separated by the edge of a cliff, do they still support each other?
A: Yes, unit in an adjacent hex still support each other.

Q: If an enemy unit is adjacent to an ordered unit on a cliff, may the ordered unit target a more distant enemy unit within range since it can't engage in melee?
A: No it can't.

 

Shouldn't it be the other way around, it's a bit strange like this.



#52 Snak

Snak

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 04 December 2009 - 03:01 AM

Cliffs don't change anything about rules which imply adjacent units. So they all remain the same.



#53 Mig el Pig

Mig el Pig

    Member

  • Members
  • 149 posts

Posted 04 December 2009 - 03:31 AM

Snak said:

Cliffs don't change anything about rules which imply adjacent units. So they all remain the same.

 

Yeah, but it's strange and a bit unlogical.



#54 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 16 December 2009 - 11:32 PM

Any word on progress towards getting a "living" FAQ back up and running?  Continuing the Lore and Creature Compendiums?

There are some rulings on the existing remnants from DoW's versions that need cleaning up, as well as plenty of new questions from newer players (and some that I would consider "older" by now  ).  For example, in the entry for Evade it is ruled that a reaction card can be played during ones turn (the correct ruling), but then in the entry for First Strike it states that a reaction card cannot be played during ones own turn.  I am still not sure if First Strike/Ambush can be played to counter Ambush/First Strike.  A sticky sort of situation that the Compendiums are adept at handling (when answered clearly ;) ).



#55 Maimed

Maimed

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 26 January 2010 - 02:01 AM

Caboose said:

Scenario sequence steps - Posted by ColtsFan (updated using latest steps from May 2008 post)

It could be more clear, but this is the way I read it.

Page 8-9 is the basic, no-lore set-up.

0. Select the scenario
1. Place the board
2. Place terrain
3. Place supplimental markers/terrain- the landmarks in this step are ONLY the one called out in the scenario set-up "specially denoted"
4. Place figures
5. Pass out summary cards
6. Shuffle & Deal Command cards.
7. Read the scenario notes / set unused Command cards next to the board
8. First player starts the game.

The rules are modified as such when Lore masters are used (po. 47-48. This is assumed since it is not clear:
4.5. Place War Council (I am using the number 4.5 to be consistent with CtA Organized)
6.1. Shuffle & deal Lore cards
6.2. Take Lore Token(s)
7.1. Shuffle discarded Lore cards into unused Lore cards and set next to the board

Page 58 and 65 seem to add the additional steps (Again assumed numbering):
0.1. Determine the number of Lore Council Levels to be used
7.9. Place Landmarks for Level 3 Lore Masters

Epic adds that card are to be placed in the Epic Rack before the 1st players turn. Since all other cards are out at this point, I assume this should also happen before Landmarks are placed, so I will call this step 7.2.

(everything in italics is an assumed step) I am placing "Place Landmarks" as step 7.9 because it is to happen at the start of the game. The start of the game, based on p. 9, is step 8.

So to answer your original question, it seems to me that all cards are dealt first before Level 3 Loremaster landmarks are placed.

The revised set up should be this:
0. Select Scenario / type of game (normal; CtA = Call to Arms [Impromptu or Organized]; Epic; RA = Reluctant Allies)
0.1. Determine number of Lore master levels if applicable
1. Place the board
2. Place terrain
3. Place supplimental markers/terrain
4. Place figures (if a standard game)
4.1 Select order of battle (if playing CtA - or skip to step 4.5)
4.1.1 Deploy Scout Guard (if using Epic and CtA / N/A in RA)
4.2 Deploy Guards
4.3 Scout Ahead (N/A in RA)
4.4 Call the Reserve (N/A in RA)
4.5 Call the War Council (in normal games or impromptu CtA, go to step 5)
4.6 Call the Specialist (if playing organized CtA)
5. Pass out summary cards
6. Shuffle & Deal Command cards
6.1. Shuffle & deal Lore cards
6.2. Take Lore Token(s)
7. Read the scenario notes / set unused Command cards next to the board
7.1. Shuffle discarded Lore cards into unused Lore cards and set next to the board
7.2 Set-up Epic Command Rack (if playing Epic)
7.9. Place Landmarks for Level 3 Lore Masters
8. First player starts the game

 

I've been palying games(war games) since the 1955. and all that reading and structuring is too damn difficult. that has been my expereance. usually someone reads the rulls and explainees it to the mates. show and telling.

today we have YOUTUBE And to do that you only need a mike and a webcam than you do it section by section just like in the rules and keep the webcam on the minis , dice , or what ever is being expalined. keep the sections short. 2 to 4 mins top and the palyers can listed to the rules being expained, see thee roll( you can turn and play the symbol showign which ever side wis what you are explaining) how unis are moves . if anything is forgoten then the palyers can go back and look at the section again.

This way is chea , it is like having  a friend over that  shows you the rules step by step anytime you need him, where every you may live. day or night.

 

Layout the  YOUTUBE sections  in the sequence you like , something along the lines

 

Battlelore 0101 what in the box?

Battlelore 0102 .... etc

 

the lads can find the rules and will be palying and enjoying is no time.  I know you guys a real smart and can get this up and running in notime!

I mean that.

 

cheers

M

 

 



#56 Maimed

Maimed

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 26 January 2010 - 02:04 AM

toddrew said:

Any word on progress towards getting a "living" FAQ back up and running?  Continuing the Lore and Creature Compendiums?

There are some rulings on the existing remnants from DoW's versions that need cleaning up, as well as plenty of new questions from newer players (and some that I would consider "older" by now  ).  For example, in the entry for Evade it is ruled that a reaction card can be played during ones turn (the correct ruling), but then in the entry for First Strike it states that a reaction card cannot be played during ones own turn.  I am still not sure if First Strike/Ambush can be played to counter Ambush/First Strike.  A sticky sort of situation that the Compendiums are adept at handling (when answered clearly ;) ).

 

Use YOUTUBE here also so all the mates can have their friend there to show and expain the rules to them.  maybe with an introduction of the BL from the Master Himself

 

cheers

M



#57 fishstix

fishstix

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 February 2010 - 05:25 AM

Hi everyone, I'm new to Battlelore and I have two quick questions.

 

1. When an Enemy Unit Battles back against my Bold attacking unit does my unit get to ignore the first flag.

 

2. Can creatures do follow on actions and do they battle back?

 

Thanks for the help guys.



#58 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 06 February 2010 - 05:59 AM

fishstix said:

Hi everyone, I'm new to Battlelore and I have two quick questions.

 

1. When an Enemy Unit Battles back against my Bold attacking unit does my unit get to ignore the first flag.

Yes, they do.  Bold affects units anytime they are on the receiving end of an attack roll, be it during a unit's initial battle or on the battle back.

 

"2. Can creatures do follow on actions and do they battle back?"

Unless there are special rules for the particular creature to the otherwise, they do battle back and perform follow on actions as other units do.  So far, none of the creatures operate as mounted units do in their follow on actions - the creatures may only gain ground, not make a pursuit action nor bonus attack.



#59 bryceandcallie

bryceandcallie

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 February 2010 - 07:53 AM

I have a question regarding dragons

1.  Is it possible to do a breath attack and a regular melee attack in the same turn?

2.  When playing with heroes it says any artifacts gained during the adventure don't count towards your maximum of two equipped artifacts.  Does that mean it would become a third equipped artifact?  Can you give an example of how this could take place and what it would look like.



#60 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 25 February 2010 - 05:26 PM

bryceandcallie, I was hoping someone else would take this one, as I really haven't had much opportunity to play with either of these expansions.  However:

1) I guess it isn't really that explicit in the rules, but yes, the dragon performs the breath attack during the movement phase, then is also able to battle during the combat phase.

2) Really not sure about this one, I will read up later and take a stab at it.

I will also take the opportunity to use this post as my quarterly shout into the void:

Any word on FFG putting up a FAQ or carrying on the Lore and Creatures Compendiums?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS