Jump to content



Photo

Charge


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 dl757477

dl757477

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 November 2011 - 10:09 AM

Quick clarification, a unit with the Charge ability, can do a Move + Move, then attack at range 1 or C.  Can the unit also perform one additonal move action for a total of 3 squares before it attacks?



#2 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 27 November 2011 - 11:20 AM

 No, used to be able to in the original rules though, but they changed it for some unknown reason.



#3 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 27 November 2011 - 12:38 PM

Just think of it as the unit still being able to attack, after using all of its actions to simply move. Only this attack is limited to C and 1 weapons.



#4 Dcal12

Dcal12

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 27 November 2011 - 03:43 PM

Loophole Master said:

Just think of it as the unit still being able to attack, after using all of its actions to simply move. Only this attack is limited to C and 1 weapons.

Range C or Range 1



#5 FlorisH

FlorisH

    Member

  • Members
  • 212 posts

Posted 28 November 2011 - 02:01 AM

The reason it was changed is likely the fact that Markus and his unit have both Charge and Fast. Under the old rules they could run 4 squares and then fight in close combat.



#6 dl757477

dl757477

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 November 2011 - 09:43 AM

Another probably obvious question, Range 1 and C both allow for simultaneous attacks from the defending troops?



#7 Wombattangofoxtrot

Wombattangofoxtrot

    Member

  • Members
  • 85 posts

Posted 28 November 2011 - 10:29 AM

dl757477 said:

Another probably obvious question, Range 1 and C both allow for simultaneous attacks from the defending troops?

Nope.  Rules just say CC weapons allow strikebacks.  Imagine if Joe could charge.  He would shoot his pistol before actually engaging with his knife... or at least I would... =)



#8 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 28 November 2011 - 10:43 AM

It would be great to have a flamethrower unit with Charge. But I guess Charge only really makes sense with "melee" weapons like the turbo gloves or kampzange, as you're really just pouncing on your opponent.



#9 Gimp

Gimp

    Member

  • Members
  • 559 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 08:26 AM

Loophole Master said:

It would be great to have a flamethrower unit with Charge. But I guess Charge only really makes sense with "melee" weapons like the turbo gloves or kampzange, as you're really just pouncing on your opponent.

Charging in many wargames means 'move and attack in melee' but that isn't the full definition, nor is DUST so limited.

Charge is moving full out to close and attack the enemy at short range, so as soon as the Allies get a hero with Charge, the Hell Boys and BBQ Squads will be feeling some serious love, as all of their weapons fall under the 'Range 1 or C' limitation.



#10 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 12:30 PM

I think an ally hero with Charge would just about break the game, whatever armor level it is. Hell Boys or BBQ charging would be a fearsome sight, and the Hammers would be zipping from side to side, punching people. Move 4 squares, attack.



#11 Wombattangofoxtrot

Wombattangofoxtrot

    Member

  • Members
  • 85 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 01:14 PM

I agree.  I think the only way we're seeing an Allied hero with charge is if they have a attribute or ability that makes them ineligible to lead any of the current armor 2 or 3 units.



#12 Gimp

Gimp

    Member

  • Members
  • 559 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 01:47 PM

I'm hoping they keep it a squad skill instead of a hero skill, because, as you both noted, it would be obnoxious for some units.

I worry less about the Hammers, though they are a threat, but a Hell Boys or BBQ Squad moving three and unleashing their flamethrowers and shotguns would be very nasty to face every turn.



#13 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 07 January 2012 - 03:32 AM

Just thought I'd run this by you guys. Last match, the axis player had the Loth charge a lone tank trap, moving twice then trying to destroy it. That's ok, right? I was a bit doubtful, as maybe Charge could only be used against an opponent, but by my reading of the rules, you could use it against a neutral obstacle like a tank trap, ammo crate or destructible wall.



#14 Gimp

Gimp

    Member

  • Members
  • 559 posts

Posted 07 January 2012 - 08:17 AM

Loophole Master said:

Just thought I'd run this by you guys. Last match, the axis player had the Loth charge a lone tank trap, moving twice then trying to destroy it. That's ok, right? I was a bit doubtful, as maybe Charge could only be used against an opponent, but by my reading of the rules, you could use it against a neutral obstacle like a tank trap, ammo crate or destructible wall.

It's a target you can attack, so I see nothing to stop you from charging it, and it makes sense a unit would do that to try and take out an obstacle quickly.



#15 Wombattangofoxtrot

Wombattangofoxtrot

    Member

  • Members
  • 85 posts

Posted 09 January 2012 - 07:26 AM

Gimp said:

 

Loophole Master said:

 

Just thought I'd run this by you guys. Last match, the axis player had the Loth charge a lone tank trap, moving twice then trying to destroy it. That's ok, right? I was a bit doubtful, as maybe Charge could only be used against an opponent, but by my reading of the rules, you could use it against a neutral obstacle like a tank trap, ammo crate or destructible wall.

 

 

It's a target you can attack, so I see nothing to stop you from charging it, and it makes sense a unit would do that to try and take out an obstacle quickly.

 

 

Agree.  Friday I charged an infantry unit taking cover in a tank trap, There's no reason why I couldn't have just attacked the tank trap instead... except it is more fun to "pinch" some Allied infantry than to break cement.  =)



#16 Brednul

Brednul

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:03 AM

Hello,

 

I have one more question about the charge :

 

When you play charge, does it take a full activation of the unit or is it simply one action?

 

Exemple :

 

May I make a first action with Charge, then a second with attack (or move)?

 

Or

 

May I just make a charge with my unit and after that it's finish with his actions?

 

Thanks!



#17 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:22 AM

You can only use Charge after performing two Move actions. Since units only have 2 actions per activation, that means you must use your full activation on movement to add the extra Charge attack action at the end of it.

The exception to this, however, comes with the NCO Squad's Stimulant Kit, which gives a unit 4 actions for their next activation. In that specific case the units can perform 2 Move actions, Charge, and then still have 2 actions to do something else (possibly another 2 Moves+Charge).



#18 Dakkon426

Dakkon426

    Member

  • Members
  • 762 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:32 AM

 charge happens only after your unit makes 2 move actions. 



#19 Brednul

Brednul

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:38 AM

ok thank you for your answers!



#20 felkor

felkor

    Member

  • Members
  • 998 posts

Posted 01 April 2012 - 09:20 PM

Charge (which includes both movement and attack) takes up the full activation.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS