Jump to content



Photo

New player still unclear about duplicates


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Drew Tuzson

Drew Tuzson

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 05:37 AM

 Hi, 

I apologize in advance if there is already a thread pertaining to the topic.  i did a query but im still new to the community.  anyhow.  i am still unclear as to how duplicates work.  my understanding is that i can play a duplicate of a character card under the active version of that character.  doing this allows me keep one in play if that character were to die?  also if there are counters on the character do those die with the duplicate?  can i trigger abilities from both cards in one round?  

Also, can i play duplicate locations, equipment, etc?  if so do i have to play them in the same nature?  for example if i play a location that yields a +1 to my gold and then a duplicate of that card i get +2 to my gold correct?  im just still a little cloudy on how this mechanic works.  

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!



#2 Deathjester26

Deathjester26

    Member

  • Members
  • 787 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 07:02 AM

If a card has a duplicate on it, you can discard that duplicate to save the card from being killed, discarded, or returned to hand.

The card can be a unique locaton, attachment, or character.

Duplicates themselves are blank, and have no active text, so you cannot use any text that comes from a duplicate.

If you use a duplicate to save a character, there is no reason to think you need to discard anything else on the card in play.  Power, attachments, etc. all remain on the card.



#3 Drew Tuzson

Drew Tuzson

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 07:04 AM

 thank you for the reply!  so then why would one run multiples of locations in a deck if the card text has no effect?  wouldnt it make more sense to run locations with similar abilities but not the same card that way your not stuck holding 3 in your hand the whole game?  



#4 Deathjester26

Deathjester26

    Member

  • Members
  • 787 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 07:11 AM

Having multiple unique location sin your deck has some advantages.

For one, it increses your chances of drawing into said card.

Second, if you decide to dupe a location, you can discard the dupe to save that location should your opponent ever try to discard it.

Third, as locations are generally discarded from play, and not killed, very rarely will you ever run into the problem where you can't play a unique location because you already have a copy in your dead pile.

On the other hand, if the location isn't that important, having 3 may just take up deck space for other cards.

Of course, this isn't a problem with non-unique locations, since you can have as many in play at the same time as you want.



#5 Drew Tuzson

Drew Tuzson

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:02 AM

 awesome thank you for the clarification.  the whole unique and non unique text.  is this referring to the house sigil on the top right hand of the card?



#6 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,561 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:26 AM

Drew Tuzson said:

the whole unique and non unique text.  is this referring to the house sigil on the top right hand of the card?
No. Look at the title of the card. If there is a black flag at the beginning of the name, it is a unique card. Otherwise, it is a non-unique card.

All of the rules for duplicating cards with the same name apply to unique cards only.



#7 Drew Tuzson

Drew Tuzson

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:52 AM

 so i can have multiple non unique locations in play at once and receive whatever multiplier or bonus from each of them?  so if the non unique location yields +1 to gold and i have 2 on the field i would get +2 to gold?



#8 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,561 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:54 AM

Of course.

Although technically, you get +1 twice, not +2 (there can be a difference).



#9 Drew Tuzson

Drew Tuzson

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 08:58 AM

 grand, thank you for the clarification.  



#10 Shenanigans

Shenanigans

    Member

  • Members
  • 261 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 10:07 AM

So say I have one the new Black Hatchling in play, then attach a duplicate of it from my hand (I don't need to put it in Shadows first, right?) and then next turn I play Drogon. The passive effect of Black Hatchling kicks in and it is attached to Drogon as a duplicate, but the duplicate on Balck Hatchling is discarded, correct?



#11 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,561 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 11:23 AM

Shenanigans said:

The passive effect of Black Hatchling kicks in and it is attached to Drogon as a duplicate, but the duplicate on Balck Hatchling is discarded, correct?
Read the Hatchling again. It says that it and all its duplicates become duplicates on Drogon.



#12 Freerider

Freerider

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 12:23 PM

 I have a couple more duplicate related questions. Save via duplicates is now considered a triggered response yes? Does Burning Bridges now that it's back prevent saving via duplicates? Or can you still use the save because it's not a part of the printed ability of a card?

Also as a triggered effect can it be cancelled by triggered effect or response cancels like To be a Kraken or He Calls it Thinking?

Furthermore per the 1 per trigger rule assuming of course that the save can be cancelled, if I was to cancel an opponent's save via a duplicate if the opponent still has 1 last duplicate attached  if he still wishes to save the character they need to do so through another means than the last duplicate yes?

 

Gotta get ready for all the ways Martells and Greyjoys gonna mess with me in melee games.

 

 



#13 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,561 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 12:46 PM

Freerider said:

I have a couple more duplicate related questions. Save via duplicates is now considered a triggered response yes? Does Burning Bridges now that it's back prevent saving via duplicates? Or can you still use the save because it's not a part of the printed ability of a card?
The save Response for dupes are not "on" a character, location, or attachment card.

Freerider said:

Also as a triggered effect can it be cancelled by triggered effect or response cancels like To be a Kraken or He Calls it Thinking?
Of course.

Freerider said:

Furthermore per the 1 per trigger rule assuming of course that the save can be cancelled, if I was to cancel an opponent's save via a duplicate if the opponent still has 1 last duplicate attached  if he still wishes to save the character they need to do so through another means than the last duplicate yes?
No. Each duplicate is a separate card. Therefore, each one is a separate Response. Triggering dupe #1 doesn't stop you from triggering dupe #2 by the "1 response per trigger" because it is not the same Response. It does the same thing, but it is not the same Response.



#14 Rogue30

Rogue30

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 01:08 PM

ktom said:

The save Response for dupes are not "on" a character, location, or attachment card.

So, "on" it's the same as "printed" here? Are you sure we should read this way? Bowl of Brown ("cannot trigger its abilities") stops dupes, right?



#15 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,561 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 04:51 PM

Rogue30 said:

Are you sure we should read this way?
Philosophically, are we ever sure of anything?

Rogue30 said:

Bowl of Brown ("cannot trigger its abilities") stops dupes, right?
Yes. Whether printed or not, the save is still considered a character ability because it is considered gained. There is a difference between "its abilities" and "abilities on the card."



#16 Rogue30

Rogue30

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 27 May 2011 - 02:45 AM

ktom said:

Philosophically, are we ever sure of anything?

Well, I mean if that was ruling about this plot in the past.



#17 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,561 posts

Posted 27 May 2011 - 06:11 AM

Rogue30 said:

ktom said:

Philosophically, are we ever sure of anything?

 

Well, I mean if that was ruling about this plot in the past.

It was part of what led to the definition of "character abilities" in general, with the differentiation between "printed" and "gained," and "gained" being a character ability but not part of the text box.



#18 Serazu

Serazu

    Member

  • Members
  • 318 posts

Posted 30 May 2011 - 02:20 AM

Can playing a Targaryen character as a duplicate trigger the LDChambers' effect? I suppose it can, since, by the time I play the card, it is a Targaryen character. Correct?



#19 Rogue30

Rogue30

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 30 May 2011 - 02:44 AM

Serazu said:

Can playing a Targaryen character as a duplicate trigger the LDChambers' effect? I suppose it can, since, by the time I play the card, it is a Targaryen character. Correct?

No, playing duplicate is not considered playing a character.



#20 Serazu

Serazu

    Member

  • Members
  • 318 posts

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:00 AM

What about characters that come out of Shadows, then? Can they trigger LDC? I guess not, since they are not probably considered "played".






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS