Jump to content



Photo

a short beginner's question concerning movement and picking up clues


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Bonzo

Bonzo

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 05:04 AM

I've bought the game two weeks ago and I really enjoy playing it. I guess I've finally figured out most of the rules, but there is one question which I couldn't find the answer to yet, neither in the rulebook nor on the Internet:

Note: I play the German version so I'm not sure if I use the correct terms of the game, but I hope you can understand what I mean.

 

If an investigator has a high speed level (last time we played a player had 6 points) and therefore can move over quite long distances, is it then possible for him to go to a location, pick up a clue token, then move back onto the street to end his movement there or in another location?

Or, in other words: Does the movement phase always end when you arrive at a location (such as the graveyard) or if you pick up a clue? Or is it possible to pick up clues "on the go", so you can pick up several clues of multiple locations within one movement phase (if investigator's speed level is high enough)?

Thank you very much in advance for your responses.



#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,503 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 06:28 AM

Nope, you're not allowed to do so. You're allowed to pick up clues only if you finish your movement in a location with a clue.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Bonzo

Bonzo

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 28 March 2011 - 09:25 AM

Thanks for your reply, during the course of my last game, another question came up:

 

With the spell healing and the Unique Item "Stone of Healing" (again, I'm using the German version of the game so I don't know if these terms are correct in the English one), they say that after using them I gain health. Can I get more health than the maximum number of health points indicated on the investigator's card? The spell doesn't say anything about it, neither does the stone. I'm not sure about this, since especially with the spell you could gain enormous amounts of health with a portion of luck during only a few rounds...



#4 Hugues

Hugues

    Member

  • Members
  • 253 posts

Posted 28 March 2011 - 11:00 AM

 No, you can't have more than that your maximum health. Maximum, is the maximum.



#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 28 March 2011 - 08:12 PM

Hugues said:

 No, you can't have more than that your maximum health. Maximum, is the maximum.

Unless, of course, if such a thing is specifically stated :

"You are filled with an unnatural vigor. Your Stamina is restored to its maximum. In addition, you gain 3 extra Stamina above your maximum that cannot be restored once lost. "


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS