Playing a 1 player game

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mattcalaho

mattcalaho

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 November 2010 - 05:13 PM

So im new to the game and was wondering what you guys and gals think of playing solo?

#2 valvorik

valvorik

• Members
  • 1,895 posts

Posted 15 November 2010 - 06:20 AM

Lots of folks play solo, including me.  It may  well be the best solo boardgame there is.  It's a cooperative game so PC's are a team (unless that "Join the Winning Team" card comes up from Dunwich expansion).

A key thing is that it doesn't mean you have to only play 1 character (as that's very tough), you can plan 2, 3, 4 (I think going over that it becomes too difficult to manage).  I play solo with 4 lots of the time, use a cthulhu marker (same as from LCG or the "bag of cthulhu") to keep track of 1st player as you can lose track (actually use it when playing with friends too for same reason).

Rob

#3 Julia

Julia

I survived Avi's apocalypse

• Members
  • 6,137 posts

Posted 15 November 2010 - 12:10 PM

There is a thread where people discuss their solo gaming experiences with Arkham on the main page of these forums. Maybe you could be interested in reading even their experiences. In case, you find this thread here. Anyway, Valvorik's words are wise, it's not a problem playing with multiple investigator even if you're alone. It's always great fun ::smiling::

We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#4 ak-73

ak-73

• Members
  • 4,057 posts

Posted 10 January 2011 - 09:23 AM

I'll have to give that one a try.

Alex

My 40K Blog (essentially a Best Of FFG Forums):

http://www.40kroleplay.weebly.com

House Rules, Rule Clarifications, Game Aids, New Creatures, consolidated official Deathwatch Squad Mode rules, 40K Tabletop to 40K Roleplay comversions, etc.

#5 Sorrowsend

Sorrowsend

• Members
  • 2 posts