Jump to content



Photo

Force Weapon question


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#41 CrunchyDemon

CrunchyDemon

    Member

  • Members
  • 243 posts

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:54 AM

This came up in Google search, so to Necro the thread, this was put into the errata.


Proud member of the Gand Anti-Defamation League.


#42 Kshatriya

Kshatriya

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,193 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 08:57 AM

DH phenomena happened too often. The following lines skewed too hard the other way, now it happens far too little or it's way too easy to reduce the "bad things happen" chance to effectively zero. Not very 40k.



#43 Theofonias

Theofonias

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 09:09 AM

What I'm curious about is if you do trigger RF do you roll each die separately or do you roll 7d10 again?  

 

For example you get 8 levels of success, your target only gets 1.  You roll 7d10 and get 10,4,5,8,6,10,5.  Do you roll 2d10 again or do you reroll the entire pool?


Edited by Theofonias, 02 December 2013 - 09:10 AM.


#44 Routa-maa

Routa-maa

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 10:07 AM

You only reroll dice roll of 10.


Muutokselle annamme Elämän, Elämälle annamme Muutoksen.

#45 Theofonias

Theofonias

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 11:16 AM

You only reroll dice roll of 10.

Why only one of the 10s?  Doesn't the Force Weapon effect count as one damage source and so should be rerolled as a whole?



#46 Routa-maa

Routa-maa

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 12:26 PM

I forgot these were in Errata I shall copy/paste them here:

 

Force Weapons (page 155):
The following sentence should be added to the description of Force Weapons section:
“The Focus Power Test to channel psychic force through a Force Weaponcan be made at any of the three psychic powers’ power levels (see page 185), and has the same chance to generate Psychic Phenomena/Perils of the Warp (see page 186-188). The additional damage dealt by channelling psychic force through a Force Weapon is Energy for the purposes of determining Critical Damage.”

 

Psychic Powers and Righteous Fury (page 186):
add the following section to the Psychic Powers in Deathwatch section preceding the Perils of the Warp (page 186):
“Psychic Powers that deal damage can benefit from Righteous Fury (see page 245).
When a chance for Righteous Fury occurs, the attacker re-rolls the Focus Power
Test using the same modifiers and power level as the original Focus Power Test to use a psychic ability.
If the original test was an Opposed Willpower Test, the defender re-rolls Willpower using the same modifiers as the
original Opposed Willpower Test. The roll to confirm Righteous Fury does not generate Psychic Phenomena or Perils of the Warp.”
 
So by these rules it seems that it is possible that RF might come out higher/lower than previous roll or be completely resisted.

Muutokselle annamme Elämän, Elämälle annamme Muutoksen.

#47 Theofonias

Theofonias

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 02 December 2013 - 12:38 PM

 

I forgot these were in Errata I shall copy/paste them here:

 

Force Weapons (page 155):
The following sentence should be added to the description of Force Weapons section:
“The Focus Power Test to channel psychic force through a Force Weaponcan be made at any of the three psychic powers’ power levels (see page 185), and has the same chance to generate Psychic Phenomena/Perils of the Warp (see page 186-188). The additional damage dealt by channelling psychic force through a Force Weapon is Energy for the purposes of determining Critical Damage.”

 

Psychic Powers and Righteous Fury (page 186):
add the following section to the Psychic Powers in Deathwatch section preceding the Perils of the Warp (page 186):
“Psychic Powers that deal damage can benefit from Righteous Fury (see page 245).
When a chance for Righteous Fury occurs, the attacker re-rolls the Focus Power
Test using the same modifiers and power level as the original Focus Power Test to use a psychic ability.
If the original test was an Opposed Willpower Test, the defender re-rolls Willpower using the same modifiers as the
original Opposed Willpower Test. The roll to confirm Righteous Fury does not generate Psychic Phenomena or Perils of the Warp.”
 
So by these rules it seems that it is possible that RF might come out higher/lower than previous roll or be completely resisted.

 

Ah cool, so you roll get RF, then do another Focus test, and then go with that degree of success. Ad infinitum until you stop rolling 10s.  That makes much more snse.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS