I have a rules question
While playing this weekend my group got into a little argument about the movement rules when a character is running away after battle. This was during round 5 when the Alarm was sounded in the city. My character was 3 spaces away at the end of my turn from leaving the city. Another players' character was 5 spaces and had a militiaman in the space in front of them (not blocking my path). At the beginning of round 7 during their turn the other player moved the militiaman into the space in front of me to block my path (good strategy). I moved my character on that round to attack the militiaman and won!! To block the other person from getting to the exit next turn I wanted to move the losing militiaman to the exit square.
Here is the question:
Does a losing character HAVE to move 3 spaces if moving three spaces is possible (I could of moved the character in another direction three spaces but wanted to block the other players path), or can you choose a direction you want to move the character and move them as far as possible (only 2 spaces in this case)?