Jump to content



Photo

Can someone explain the math of Agrabah Level 3?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Joeyman

Joeyman

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 11 January 2010 - 07:21 AM

Can someone explain how these double magic worlds work?  In Agrabah level 3, if I play one magic card that does 4 damage, does it do eight?  If I play two that do four damage, do they do 24?  If I play three that do 4, do they do 48?



#2 devilmonkey

devilmonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 417 posts

Posted 11 January 2010 - 08:23 AM

If you have an Agrabah lvl3 out and play a "Fire" card, it will do 8 damage. Then, if you play another "Fire" card, it will do another 8 damage (hence 16 if you choose to play them on the same Dark/Nobody Card)

The second part of Agrabah lvl3's effect [For each additional doubling effect card used, the damage multiplier increases by 1] is in reference to when there are multiple cards out that say "double the magic..." But, seeing as there are none, this doesn't matter



#3 WayToTheDawn

WayToTheDawn

    Member

  • Members
  • 958 posts

Posted 11 January 2010 - 08:30 AM

This is definitely one of the more complicated questions to answer...here's what the Rules and Rulings FAQ says.

 

Q: How do doubling worlds work?
A: The damage multiplier works as thus: The first “Fire” is doubled to 8 damage, the second “Fire” damage tripled to 12, and the third quadrupled to 16.

So, you'd play 1 Fire and it would become doubled: 4x2 = 8

then, a second Fire increases the multiplier by 1: 4x3 = 12

Finally the third fire would increase the multiplier by one more: 4x4 = 16

 

Hope this helps. ^_^



#4 Joeyman

Joeyman

    Member

  • Members
  • 52 posts

Posted 11 January 2010 - 12:09 PM

So, just to clarify, three fire cards would do 36 damage? 



#5 devilmonkey

devilmonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 417 posts

Posted 12 January 2010 - 05:48 AM

WayToTheDawn said:

This is definitely one of the more complicated questions to answer...here's what the Rules and Rulings FAQ says.

 

Q: How do doubling worlds work?
A: The damage multiplier works as thus: The first “Fire” is doubled to 8 damage, the second “Fire” damage tripled to 12, and the third quadrupled to 16.

So, you'd play 1 Fire and it would become doubled: 4x2 = 8

then, a second Fire increases the multiplier by 1: 4x3 = 12

Finally the third fire would increase the multiplier by one more: 4x4 = 16

 

Hope this helps. ^_^

Seriously? When was this rule made this way? That's completely not how someone would interpret the card(s) if they used just the reading of it. But then again, it wouldn't be the first time



#6 FlameChampion267

FlameChampion267

    Member

  • Members
  • 92 posts

Posted 12 January 2010 - 04:36 PM

Now even I'm a little confused....



#7 WayToTheDawn

WayToTheDawn

    Member

  • Members
  • 958 posts

Posted 13 January 2010 - 08:57 AM

I believe this is how good ol' Rule Man Robb Kouba explained it WAY back in the day when this question first popped up...I always thought it made sense...apparently I was wrong?



#8 devilmonkey

devilmonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 417 posts

Posted 13 January 2010 - 09:16 PM

Well the idea itself makes sense, but the card(s) simply don't state it that way. I mean it's not even a case of "it could mean this or this...".

Text in question:
[For each additional doubling effect card used, the damage multiplier increases by 1.]

If it meant just playing additional Magic Cards increased the multiplier, it would say Magic Card instead. I mean I always assumed the text was put there so that, when/if they brought out more cards that doubled Magic Damage other than worlds, you would go up my singles instead of doubles (ex. x2,x 3, x4; x2, x4, x6)



#9 WayToTheDawn

WayToTheDawn

    Member

  • Members
  • 958 posts

Posted 14 January 2010 - 08:25 AM

devilmonkey said:

Well the idea itself makes sense, but the card(s) simply don't state it that way. I mean it's not even a case of "it could mean this or this...".

Text in question:
[For each additional doubling effect card used, the damage multiplier increases by 1.]

If it meant just playing additional Magic Cards increased the multiplier, it would say Magic Card instead. I mean I always assumed the text was put there so that, when/if they brought out more cards that doubled Magic Damage other than worlds, you would go up my singles instead of doubles (ex. x2,x 3, x4; x2, x4, x6)

 

Well...maybe it depends on how you interpret it, which would definitely fit in with how FFG likes to do things.  Or hell, it could even be a translation error...cause from what I've seen of the unreleased cards thus far, they never released a card that doubled magic other than the worlds.

Maybe "Doubling Effect Card" is meant to read as "Each Card that gets the doubling effect of this world"...if you catch my drift...kind of hard to really explain...like a really complicated way of saying "for every other card that gets the doubling effect..."

 

 



#10 FlameChampion267

FlameChampion267

    Member

  • Members
  • 92 posts

Posted 14 January 2010 - 05:42 PM

WayToTheDawn said:

 

from what I've seen of the unreleased cards thus far, they never released a card that doubled magic other than the worlds.

wisdom form sora.....



#11 Choitz

Choitz

    Member

  • Members
  • 384 posts

Posted 14 January 2010 - 06:18 PM

FlameChampion267 said:

WayToTheDawn said:

 

 

from what I've seen of the unreleased cards thus far, they never released a card that doubled magic other than the worlds.

 

 

wisdom form sora.....

Lawlz! 

I'm sorry, Dawn, but pwn'd, you have been. 

But I will agree that they might've translated the cards wrong.  *COFF!* 



#12 Trothael

Trothael

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,199 posts

Posted 14 January 2010 - 06:40 PM

The maths here is wrong.

VERY WRONG.

 

BRB - Fetching maths cannon



#13 WayToTheDawn

WayToTheDawn

    Member

  • Members
  • 958 posts

Posted 15 January 2010 - 07:58 AM

okay okay....ya'll can kiss my absent minded ass, lol.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS