Jump to content



Photo

A few questions about the game


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Theseus XVII

Theseus XVII

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 04:54 PM

Hi, me and my brother just started playing and i have a couple of questions:

 

1) skills that don't require an action (such as prayer of healing): they have to be done at the start of the hero's turn or it can be used anytime during his turn? (for example: move -> use skill -> attack)

 

2) is a lieutenant considered a monster? (for hero skills purpose) and is a familiar considered a hero? (for overlord's cards purpose)

 

3) when the overlord attacks a hero with a monster: can he use multiple OL cards in the same attack? (such as add damage, reroll a dice, etc.)

 

4) big creature's movement: Shadow Dragon has a movement of 3, but if he makes two move actions it'd be a lot, since when it ends his first move action i can put the rear in that spot and occupy the two spaces ahead, then start the second move action. Isn't that too OP or am i thinking it wrong?


Edited by Theseus XVII, 28 August 2014 - 04:56 PM.


#2 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 149 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 05:28 PM

1) Anytime, but you can't interrupt the resolution of something currently happening, like you cant heal mid dice roll.

 

2) It's a monster, but not specifically a "minion" or "master" monster.

 

3) Yes, but they cannot have the same name.

 

4) Yes, additionally, you could move 1 space, interrupt your movement to attack, expanding him to "3 spaces moved" then after the attack move him 2 more spaces and expand him out again for a total of 7 movement. Wacky huh? :)



#3 Theseus XVII

Theseus XVII

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 05:29 PM

thanks very much for the info, very much appreciated. Any clues on the familiar situation?



#4 DAMaz

DAMaz

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 05:38 PM

1) Anytime, but you can't interrupt the resolution of something currently happening, like you cant heal mid dice roll.

 

2) It's a monster, but not specifically a "minion" or "master" monster.

 

3) Yes, but they cannot have the same name.

 

4) Yes, additionally, you could move 1 space, interrupt your movement to attack, expanding him to "3 spaces moved" then after the attack move him 2 more spaces and expand him out again for a total of 7 movement. Wacky huh? :)

 

4) is a little more complicated. FFG has said in an FAQ that if you want to interrupt a movement action of a big monster, you have to be able to execute the action from the 1 space your monster is shrinked down to.

 

When you take 2 movement-actions I think it's not against the rules to expand however you like after your first movement-action.

 

For the familiar question I advise you to look into the rulebook. There are at least two different kinds of familiars: Normal familiars and Familiars treated as hero figures.

Normal familiars work very specific

Familiars treated as heroes can usually only move and attack, but the OL can do anything with them, he could do to heroes I think.


Edited by DAMaz, 28 August 2014 - 05:42 PM.


#5 Theseus XVII

Theseus XVII

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 05:50 PM

ok, thanks everyone, that clears everything up :)



#6 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 149 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 06:01 PM

4) is a little more complicated. FFG has said in an FAQ that if you want to interrupt a movement action of a big monster, you have to be able to execute the action from the 1 space your monster is shrinked down to.

 

No I think that's backwards. To be able to interrupt you have to be able to expand, you can't just do it from the single space you are shrunk down too. This came about in a ruling with the card "Nimble" on Wildlander. You can't use it to interrupt the monsters movement if it can't expand properly (it had to expand since it is being interrupted).

 

And since the monster can pick any space it occupies and shrink to that space, you are always able to get "that one space" that you want. But if you mean that you can't expand across a hero and then shrink next to it... yea you can't do that.

 

Also Thesues sorry I totally missed the familiars question. :) But yea each familiar will say "treat as a hero" or not so it's a case-by-case thing. For instance the Geomancer's stones are NOT treated as heroes, they are "objects". I think the necromancer and beast master treats it's Reanimate and Wolf as a "figure" but not a hero.

 

Edit: Here is what you are looking for from the rule book Theseus:

 

Quoted:
 

Some familiars, such as the Reanimate, are treated as figures (as indicated 
by its Familiar card). These familiars block line of sight and movement, 
but are considered friendly figures for hero movement. They may be 
targeted and affected by monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord 
cards that target a hero.
 
 
 
 
DOUBLE EDIT!: Nevermind DMaz I see what you are talking about. Yea you cant expand INTO a space that puts you in melee range, you have to interrupt movement with the square you intend to perform the action from, yea. You could still pull off my example though if you were strafing along side a hero.:)

Edited by Carbini, 28 August 2014 - 06:27 PM.


#7 Madmartigan

Madmartigan

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 06:38 AM

3) Yes, but they cannot have the same name.

What it says in the rules is that the Overlord can play only one card of the same name on the same target per "triggering condition". So on the same turn the Overlord can use multiple cards on the same monster. However, the Overlord cannot use multiple identical cards on the same monster in response to the same triggering condition, for example: during an activation of a monster in which the monster performs an attack, the overlord could use a card that triggers "before dice are rolled", and then use another different card on the same monster that triggers "after dice are rolled". But the Overlord could not use two identical frenzy cards, which trigger when a monster is "activated", on the same monster on the same turn to give it more than 2 attacks, etc.


"Everything will be alright, once we get to Tir Asleen."


#8 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,644 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:46 PM

Hello,

we had our first Descent game tonight and we had a problem with the Nimble card in the Wildlander deck.

 

4) is a little more complicated. FFG has said in an FAQ that if you want to interrupt a movement action of a big monster, you have to be able to execute the action from the 1 space your monster is shrinked down to.

 

No I think that's backwards. To be able to interrupt you have to be able to expand, you can't just do it from the single space you are shrunk down too. This came about in a ruling with the card "Nimble" on Wildlander. You can't use it to interrupt the monsters movement if it can't expand properly (it had to expand since it is being interrupted).

 

 This is the answer I was looking for, but where exactly is it given? I can't find any applicable explanation in the FAQ 1.4.

 

We had to stop playing First Blood for about 15 minutes to take a look at the FAQ and then on the forums. Not exactly how I figured out our first quest with Descent 2nd Edition. We had Tomble Burrowell with Wildlander class that could just have moved 1 space with Nimble when a shrinked Ettin was "sneaking" around him, and if he moved in a certain place the Ettin could not have expanded again. This is a macroscopic issue and it surprises me it's not directly mentioned in the FAQ.



#9 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 149 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 06:25 PM

Yea it's a bit weird, I don't think large monster interruption is actually explained anywhere in the rule book, it's assumed through other rules (I assume this at least?:)).

 

Basically the large monster shrinks down to one space and moves as a one space entity. That one space entity has to move adjacent to the wildlander for him to be able to use nimble. So if you had a shadow dragon you could expand it into the space adjacent to that wildlander and make an attack without having him "Nimble" away.

 

HOWEVER... :) ... you can't interrupt and expand unless you could legaly perform the action you are interrupting your movement with, so if your creature doesn't have reach, then means that expanding into position to attack the wildlander without him "Nimbling" away means you have to end your movement completely (basically it's no longer an interruption, you are finished with your move completely)

 

The ettin and merriods get around this with reach, but for that very same reason they don't need to be next to the wildlander anyway unless like you said, they are trying to get around him.

As far as the FAQ, there is a list on BGG someone has compiled that has all the official answers to questions that have come from FFG. BGG is currently down so I can't google into the link, but I think I posted it earlier and I'll try to find it for you and you can hit it when their site comes back.



#10 DAMaz

DAMaz

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 11:52 PM

Hello,

we had our first Descent game tonight and we had a problem with the Nimble card in the Wildlander deck.

 

4) is a little more complicated. FFG has said in an FAQ that if you want to interrupt a movement action of a big monster, you have to be able to execute the action from the 1 space your monster is shrinked down to.

 

No I think that's backwards. To be able to interrupt you have to be able to expand, you can't just do it from the single space you are shrunk down too. This came about in a ruling with the card "Nimble" on Wildlander. You can't use it to interrupt the monsters movement if it can't expand properly (it had to expand since it is being interrupted).

 

 This is the answer I was looking for, but where exactly is it given? I can't find any applicable explanation in the FAQ 1.4.

 

We had to stop playing First Blood for about 15 minutes to take a look at the FAQ and then on the forums. Not exactly how I figured out our first quest with Descent 2nd Edition. We had Tomble Burrowell with Wildlander class that could just have moved 1 space with Nimble when a shrinked Ettin was "sneaking" around him, and if he moved in a certain place the Ettin could not have expanded again. This is a macroscopic issue and it surprises me it's not directly mentioned in the FAQ.

 

 

Rulebook
Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s figure on the map.”

 

You must be able to execute the interrupting action from your shrunk 1x1 space, then you expand your monster however you like from that space, then you perform your action.

 

If you can't execute the action from your shrunk down 1x1 space, you can't perform your action or expand to begin with.

If you can't expand you can't interrupt the action.

If you can't expand, your monster can't perform the action.

 

FAQ: http://boardgamegeek..._Unofficial_FAQ

 

regarding nimble from the FAQ

:

Q: Is "Nimble" an interrupt? When the Wildlander wishes to trigger "Nimble" when a large monster moves adjacent to him, must the Overlord first expand the large monster (like against the "Knight's Guard")?

A: "Nimble" is considered an interrupt, and a large monster would need to expand before the Wildlander would complete its movement. As with other interrupts, it's not eligible to perform against large monsters unless the large monster has the space to expand in the first place.


Edited by DAMaz, 30 August 2014 - 12:02 AM.


#11 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,644 posts

Posted 30 August 2014 - 01:45 AM

Thank you for the explanations and for posting a link to the unofficial Descent 2 FAQ thread.

 

I didn't know since I don't have followed this forum over the years. That is a well-made document, I'm just a bit surprised that FFG didn't add such a basic concept as the interruption of large monster movement with Nimble to the official FAQ. It's something that it's very likely to happen during the first game, provided a Wildlander is present.

 

After many years of old Descent and a full 2-year stop, we finally gathered to try DE2 yesterday evening. I felt a nice balance with 4 Heroes, much better than with only 2 like I played about 1 year ago to test it. I was hoping that problem was solved, as the first Descent wasn't playable with 2 Heroes and still very tough with 3.



#12 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 03 September 2014 - 12:46 PM

FAQ: http://boardgamegeek..._Unofficial_FAQ

 

regarding nimble from the FAQ

:

Q: Is "Nimble" an interrupt? When the Wildlander wishes to trigger "Nimble" when a large monster moves adjacent to him, must the Overlord first expand the large monster (like against the "Knight's Guard")?

A: "Nimble" is considered an interrupt, and a large monster would need to expand before the Wildlander would complete its movement. As with other interrupts, it's not eligible to perform against large monsters unless the large monster has the space to expand in the first place.

What's interesting here is that this could theoretically give large monsters more free spaces from expanding than they would normally get from their own interruptions. (There's no rule on interruption limits except as implied by the fact that each monster only gets one other action besides the Move action being interrupted).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS