Jump to content



Photo

Quest setup with an ally


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 783 posts

Posted 27 August 2014 - 07:39 PM

A small question for your consideration:

 

When setting up a quest in which the (4) heroes control an ally, the rules only state that the ally must be adjacent to a hero. Can the ally be placed on the entrance, forcing one of the heroes to be placed in a space adjacent to the entrance, or must the ally be the one who is off the entrance tile?



#2 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 678 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 03:19 AM

I would say the heroes must be on the entrance tile, and the ally adjacent to at least one of them.



#3 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 783 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 09:00 AM

I think it's a question of timing. If all of the heroes are placed before the ally is placed, it's clear. However, if they're placed all at the same time, it would seem that you could place 3 heroes, place the ally on the last entrance space, and then place the last hero in the nearest available empty space. Does that sound reasonable?


Edited by Zaltyre, 28 August 2014 - 09:35 AM.


#4 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 157 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 12:10 PM

I would rule the timing to the line that says "The heroes control their ally." within the quest setup (in the quest guide). See if that's before or after "the heroes place their figures on the entrance."

 

Rule book says:
 

"The ally’s token must be placed adjacent to a hero at the start of a quest."
 
Which isn't a specific timing step, so I would go in order with quest setup.
 
Quest setup order is also why the monsters usually get placed AFTER the heroes get place, unless that rule is also specifically in the core rule book, but we've always played this way due to quest setup rules.
 
I wish I could reference one of the quest guides but I'm at work. Why can't you ask these questions when I'm home? ;)
 
Edit: Also putting Trenloe one space closer so he's within 3-movement kill range seems "exploit-y" and I would never do it even if it was in the rules. :)

Edited by Carbini, 28 August 2014 - 12:12 PM.


#5 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 12:23 PM

I believe Carbini has it correct, follow the order of the text for the quest. If it says heroes start on the entrance before you place an ally, then that's how you do it.

 

However, many quests don't specify to place the heroes on the entrance, it's merely assumed by the rules. At this point, I think Rugal is correct. Heroes are all placed at the same time, and the ally is placed after (since it must be placed in relation to a hero). Thus, the heroes are placed on the entrance tile, and the ally is placed after.



#6 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 783 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 01:10 PM

I believe Carbini has it correct, follow the order of the text for the quest. If it says heroes start on the entrance before you place an ally, then that's how you do it.

 

However, many quests don't specify to place the heroes on the entrance, it's merely assumed by the rules. At this point, I think Rugal is correct. Heroes are all placed at the same time, and the ally is placed after (since it must be placed in relation to a hero). Thus, the heroes are placed on the entrance tile, and the ally is placed after.

Many of the quests indeed don't specify placement of heroes in the quest rules. The issue I have is whether Serena gets placed with the heroes, or after. I grant that the ally would definitely need to be placed after at least one hero has been placed. Until we can find a reason to do otherwise, I think we'll play that the ally has to be the odd figure out.

 

To Carbini, there is a bit on the page about quest setup (it's in reference to the beginning of a campaign, but the campaign phase says to follow that order for subsequent quests) that does indeed specify that heroes get placed, then monsters get placed (so monsters can't interfere with the placement of allies) and then travel happens.



#7 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 157 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 02:06 PM

Travel happens after figure placement? Wierd...

 

Edit: Yea... last step in campaign phase...

Well my group always just smashes that together anyway, travel first at my house! :)


Edited by Carbini, 28 August 2014 - 02:11 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS