Jump to content



Photo

Question about Mother Goddess


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 mradwan

mradwan

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 August 2014 - 05:02 AM

Hi fellow runners,

 

There is a small debate in my netrunning group regarding the ability of Mother Goddess, where it says "Mother Goddess gains the subtypes of all other rezzed ice.". The debate is that some people consider Code Gate, Sentry, and Barrier as the subtypes that Mother Goddess gains, where I think that the subtype is stuff like AP, destroyer, tracer, and so on. 

 

Can someone clarify that.

 

Thanks a lot,

Mohamed



#2 etherial

etherial

    Member

  • Members
  • 297 posts

Posted 25 August 2014 - 07:08 AM

You are both right. "AP, Barrier, Bioroid, Code Gate, Destroyer, Grail, Mythic, Observer, Sentry, Tracer" are all examples of subtypes. Compare the text on, say, Deus X and Gingerbread to the text on Battering Ram and Femme Fatale.


Edited by etherial, 25 August 2014 - 07:09 AM.

  • CommissarFeesh likes this

#3 mradwan

mradwan

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 August 2014 - 07:54 AM

Thanks a lot for the clarification



#4 Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 728 posts

Posted 25 August 2014 - 11:45 AM

She synergizes with NEXT ice for purposes of those cards' text.


  • Zepaw likes this

#5 quailman2101

quailman2101

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 November 2014 - 07:10 PM

So would you be able to reveal her from your hand when a runner encounters a grail ice?



#6 nungunz

nungunz

    Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 24 November 2014 - 07:40 PM

No. Card abilities are only active when installed and rezzed.
  • CommissarFeesh likes this

#7 blackthorne1978

blackthorne1978

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 November 2014 - 09:07 PM

So you need one Mother Goddess in hand and one rezzed, and then it can count as a valid Grail target.



#8 Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Member

  • Members
  • 728 posts

Posted 24 November 2014 - 10:44 PM

No, because Mother Goddess' text giving her the Grail trait is not active, as the copy in HQ is not installed and rezzed.

 

Bottom line, she doesn't synergize with Grail ice at all.


  • CommissarFeesh likes this

#9 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

    Member

  • Members
  • 744 posts

Posted 25 November 2014 - 12:53 AM

So you need one Mother Goddess in hand and one rezzed, and then it can count as a valid Grail target.


Remember that cards that use self-referential language only refer to themselves, and not other copies of the same card.

#10 quailman2101

quailman2101

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 25 November 2014 - 12:14 PM

that's what i though, thanks






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS