Jump to content



Photo

Immune to Player Card Effects While Not in Play


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Teamjimby

Teamjimby

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 05:02 PM

I've never actually had this come up, but I was thinking today about what would happen if you played a card that interacted with an encounter card that is immune to player card effects while the card is either in the encounter deck or in the encounter discard pile.  Most of these immune cards are never actually in the encounter deck because they are put into play or kept out of play at the start of the quest, but there are a few locations that are in the encounter.  For example with Out of the Wild; Could you remove the location from the game, or is it immune?  Can you use Shadows of the Past to put the location back on the deck? 

out-of-the-wild-rtr.jpg

I'm guessing the answer is that you ignore the text on the card unless it is in play, but I'm not sure.  I recall a similar ruling that said you can use Fortune or Fate to bring Beorn back into play.  Has anyone resolved this before?



#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,352 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 05:49 PM

As you say, you can use Fortune or Fate or Landroval to interact with Beorn, so cards like Out of the Wild or Risk Some Light should be able to manipulate encounter deck cards just as well.



#3 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 491 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 05:50 PM

damn... grand spleen is too fast.

 

Exact same thing


  • jormungandr likes this

#4 wlk

wlk

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 28 August 2014 - 11:34 PM

I agree with this interpretation, although to add up to the confusion, many player or encounter cards have effects that trigger even while "out of play".

 

ffg_brok-ironfist-core.jpguMEN04-card-05.png



#5 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 491 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 12:56 AM

They just need to have a text that explicitly specify from where (outside of in play) they happen... (with one or two exception...)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS