Jump to content



Photo

Syndrael with Knight Class - Noob Question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Westink

Westink

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 11:53 AM

Can you use the Knight's "Oath of Honor" and still use her hero ability to take off two fatigue from your hero card? The "Oath of Honor" skill card never says she "moves"... 



#2 AiriusTorpora

AiriusTorpora

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 11:55 AM

Can you use the Knight's "Oath of Honor" and still use her hero ability to take off two fatigue from your hero card? The "Oath of Honor" skill card never says she "moves"... 

 

Nope. Moving was clarified as your model changing locations... not just taking a move action or moving via fatigue, etc etc.



#3 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 12:53 PM

The Knight class seems to synergize better with Grisban, but Syndrael is a vastly superior hero (best heroic feat in the game IMO), and the knight class is just plain better than the berserker, so even though you won't get to use her hero ability much, she makes a good knight.



#4 Westink

Westink

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 01:12 PM

So then you can't use "oath of honor" and "advanced" when immobilized because you can't "suffer fatigue to gain movement points"? 



#5 AiriusTorpora

AiriusTorpora

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 01:30 PM

So then you can't use "oath of honor" and "advanced" when immobilized because you can't "suffer fatigue to gain movement points"? 

 

Actually skills and feats that move you without taking a move action or spending fatigue to gain movement points allow you to move while you are immobilized. It is a way to get around it.

 

Read the limitations on the immobilized card very carefully, and think about all the things it doesn't stop you from doing. :) It doesn't say "you can't move" ... it says you can't move via these specific methods.



#6 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 475 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 01:30 PM

So then you can't use "oath of honor" and "advanced" when immobilized because you can't "suffer fatigue to gain movement points"? 

RAW, you can use either of those abilities while you are immobilized, since doing them does not require taking a move action or suffering fatigue to gain movement points. In fact, there are no movement points involved with either of those skills.



#7 Covered in Weasels

Covered in Weasels

    Member

  • Members
  • 537 posts

Posted 23 August 2014 - 02:29 PM

This is one of the things that irritates me about Descent. The difference between which things are affected by Immobilize and which are not is very fiddly, and you have to read everything very carefully to make sure you understand how it works.


Do not ask why you serve.  Only ask how.

 

Synonymous names include: Buried in Ferrets, Enveloped by Ermine.

Currently GMing a Dark Heresy 2.0 game and inflicting untold misery upon Martin Lockheed and company.


#8 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts

Posted 23 August 2014 - 06:37 PM

This is one of the things that irritates me about Descent. The difference between which things are affected by Immobilize and which are not is very fiddly, and you have to read everything very carefully to make sure you understand how it works.

 

It's not that bad, just look as to whether the ability is a move action (abilities never are) or whether it gives movement points (which is clearly stated and easy to find).



#9 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 03:04 PM

This is one of the things that irritates me about Descent. The difference between which things are affected by Immobilize and which are not is very fiddly, and you have to read everything very carefully to make sure you understand how it works.

Just don't read the title as Immobilized and instead think of it as "Restricted Movement". Don't change the mechanics. Done.

 

I swear almost all of the "problems" with immobilized are because they named the card incorrectly, whereas if people just read the rules for the card, everything would be fine.


Edited by griton, 29 August 2014 - 03:05 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS