Jump to content



Photo

Tech Bubble and the technology2 strategy card


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 pyrefly1986

pyrefly1986

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 07:24 PM

I got the Tech Bubble" Action card recently and we are playing with the Technology 2 SC and I cant for life of me see the value in this card...should I discard and redraw as doesn't this card do the same thing the technology 2 card already does? is the only real savings in this case is 2 resource points but now lose a strategy allocation  counter? it doesn't seem to me to be a very good action card ...in actually it went from a great card with technology1 card to crummy with the upgrade? Can anyone tell me a good use for this? or any rules changing the card to mean something else when playing with Tech 2 SC card?



#2 Forgottenlore

Forgottenlore

    Midnight Dreary

  • Members
  • 2,297 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 07:49 PM

Can you specify what the card actually says? I doubt many people have all the cards memorized.

Thanks, Troy

 

Once Upon a Midnight Dreary....


#3 robertcop2

robertcop2

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 02:25 AM

The tech bubble allows you to execute the secondary ability of the tech strategy card after executing the primary. This gives you one additional technology either with tech sc I or II by paying the required resources. What is exactly the problem?



#4 Forgottenlore

Forgottenlore

    Midnight Dreary

  • Members
  • 2,297 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 12:16 PM

Ah, that one.

Yeah, with tech 2 you would potentially be able to get 3 techs in one turn if you had sufficient resources. Alternately, it could let you get just a second tech for 6 resources instead of 8.

I have also heard some people argue that it lets the Jol-Nar player get 5 techs in one turn, though I don't know if that is actually legal or if there is an obscure rule that prevents it.

Thanks, Troy

 

Once Upon a Midnight Dreary....


#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,680 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:22 PM

I have also heard some people argue that it lets the Jol-Nar player get 5 techs in one turn, though I don't know if that is actually legal or if there is an obscure rule that prevents it.


Sounds legal (but highly cheesy) to me. I can certainly understand some groups wanting to house rule it, but I'm not seeing anything in RAW to stop it.

Jol Nar's ability says "perform the Primary of Tech after performing the Secondary of Tech." The AC says "Perform the Secondary of Tech after performing the Primary." I count a total of 6 techs though, assuming JN has the money for them (unless I'm getting confused somewhere.)

1) somebody other than Jol Nar takes Tech 2 and uses it.
2) JN performs the Secondary of Tech 2.
3) When JN performs the Secondary, he also gets to perform the Primary.
4) JN plays the Tech Bubble AC to perform the Secondary of Tech 2 AFTER resolving the Primary.
5) When JN performs the Secondary (again,) he also gets to perform the Primary (again.)

So that would 6 techs with Tech II, and the pricing would be Free/6/8/Free/6/8 (because Tech Bubble stipulates Secondary AFTER Primary, while JN's racial lets him blend the two, per the rulebook.) 5 Techs only if JN took Tech himself, which JN shouldn't really be doing, but who could blame him?

It's pretty crazy, but you have to be Jol Nar (1 out of 20ish races, if drawing randomly) and then you have to draw 1 card out the Action Deck, which last I checked was somewhere around 200 cards. (Or be REALLY GOOD FRIENDS with Hacan.)

#6 solitear

solitear

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 24 October 2014 - 04:30 PM

I would argue that you can only perform a primary or secondary strategy once per round.      even if you are instructed to.      not sure if thats implicit in the rules though.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS