Jump to content



Photo

New To Game Also New To LCG Games


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JohnClark

JohnClark

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 07:14 PM

Im new to the game of thrones card game, and have a lot of questions. (CORE SET)

 

1, When a character like arya stark can kneel one influence to gain stealth or renown does she take it from your character or opponent? How Long does she get it for? 

 

The Card Hodor can not be declared an attacker and cannot be bypassed by stealth

Can someone explain this card more simply and how useful it is?

 

When you can defend against stealth or any other thing like that does your opponent have to give to time to defend before claiming the action?

 

When ever a card says attached character Example: Attached character gets +2 STR is it for you character or opponents?

 

The card Winterfell Honor Guard Can some one explain this card more simply (examples would be nice)

 

When you get icons keywords anything like that do they reset when you begin new round?

 

When you win an intrigue challenge does opponent have to choose a card to elimiate with out looking at cards?

 

Flame-kissed House Targaryen Please explain Card and how it is used?

 

Drogon Card Do you get to choose an opponent or your own characters? And does this card text apply to most cards, What i mean is do you choose your cards or opponents cards?

 

When you have more than one action like Any Phase, Dominance, Response can you use one per round or when it is that phase. And the one for any phase can you use that more than once?

 

When you pay gold to save a certain character from being killed when is this done? Before Or After character is killed?

 

poisoned Wine How Does this work?

 

If Card has no House icon in corner like littlefinger what does this mean?

 

Please answer questions simlple and use examples if possible

Everthing i have asked is in core set When answering questions use core set answers

 

I will have more questions but this will do for now Thanks to all that reply. 

 



#2 -Istaril

-Istaril

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 07:22 AM

1. Arya takes it from a character (you could choose one of your own, or your opponent's), and gets them herself. As the ability states, this effect lasts from when it is triggered until the end of the phase in which you triggered it.

 

2. Hodor is a cheap, reliable blocker. At 1 cost for 4str with those abilities, he'll reliably (and safely) be able to defend Mil/Power challenges your opponent initiates against you.

 

3. The timing here might be a little complications (it's all clarified in the FAQ), but what happens, simplified, is
i. Declare attackers
ii. A window of opportunity for people to use "Challenges:" and "Any phase" abilities

iii. Attacker chooses stealth targets
iv. Defender declares defenders.

 

4. Cards that refer to attached characters are, themselves, attachments. They are played under a character card - either yours or your opponent's (some are positive attachments, offering benefits, others, like Flame kissed, are negative ones and best placed on your opponent's). 

 

5. Instead of paying the guy's hefty cost, you can trigger his ability from hand to put him into play under the control of an opponent. If they win a challenge with the character, you get it back. This is typically a card used soley in the Melee format (3-4 players), so you can help someone AND eventually help yourself.

 

6. It depends. If the effect would expire, it'll say so ("Until end of phase, the character gains stealth"), otherwise it's a constant (attached character gains an intrigue icon). In the latter case, once the attachment was discarded, the character would then lose that int icon.

 

7. The losing defender has to discard a card at random. In common play, the winner picks a card from the loser's hand (seeing only the backs)

 

8. You place this on an opponent's 2str character to get rid of it, or higher str character to weaken him permanently. The key thing here is the "Ambush" keyword, which means you could potentially do it when your opponent really isn't expecting it. If you have 2 influence standing, ambush flame kissed in after he's declared defenders and is convinced he'll win the all-important challenge!

 

9. If it says 'choose a character' - you do just that, choose a character somewhere on the board. Doesn't have to be yours. The exceptions will be listed "choose a character you control" or "choose a character controlled by an opponent". The one point worth noting though is that COSTS can never be paid using an opponent's cards. If it says "Kneel a character TO do soandso" or "Choose and kill a character TO do soandso", that's a cost (it preceeds a "to") and can only be paid with cards you control. 

 

I have to take off for a bit, but I'll answer the next few when I'm back


  • Devon Greatwolf likes this

#3 -Istaril

-Istaril

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:20 AM

10. Many of those are printed on Events, which are 1 shot only. You play the event from your hand (and it goes to discard) in order to trigger its effects. There, they're one shot-only. The ones printed on cards in play, however, have no inherent limit; if it said "Challenges: Gain a gold" you could trigger it as many times as you like. Typically effects like that have a built in limit printed on the card, like "Limit 3 times per phase", or require a cost (Discard a card to gain a gold) which inherently limits how often you can trigger them. 

Responses are a bit different: You can trigger them once every time their trigger is met. If it says "Response: After you lose a challenge" you can trigger it for every challenge you use - but only immediately after you lose that challenge (not 2 actions later). 

 

11. You can't pay gold to save a character from being killed, unless you're specifically referring to a card effect like the golden armour one, or perhaps Bronn? Leaving Bronn aside, he's a tricky case and I don't want to get bogged down in details, the Gilded Plate (or whatever it'sc alled) has the same timing as, say, Bodyguard or a duplicate of a character; when an effect initiates that would kill the character, you can trigger it in the "save/cancel" step, before it resolves and actually kills the character. These are all cards with Response:, and either the word "save' or "cancel", and have that unique timing. Think of them as a means of dodging death, rather than resuscitation - this may help you with some of the more complex timing of the moribund state, once that comes up.

 

12. You put it on an opponent's character to reduce their str by 2. If ever a more tempting target for it comes around, like an even better character, you can move it from one to the other by paying the influence. If you have a lot of influence, you could potentially bounce it around throughout the challenge phase, making sure that no matter who your opponent decides to participate with, they'll suffer some -2 STR goodness. 

 

13. It means it has no house affiliation, and is "neutral". You pay no out-of-house gold penalties to play it, but it also doesnt' count as in-house for cards that require, for instance, a lannister character.


  • Devon Greatwolf likes this

#4 JohnClark

JohnClark

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 05:54 PM

If you have duplicate Cards does str double?

 

Just to clarify Hodor can only defend not attack?

 

If character loses stealth or ability do you have to require it when they are back in play?

 

For question 11 can you give an example (Core Set) how i would save character from being killed?

 

Winterfell honor guard What Happens if opponent loses? Do you get card back?

 

Thank you for the answers these questions are to clarifty alittle bit 

 

Again Thank you for replying



#5 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 409 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 07:18 PM

Remember to read things as literally as possible.  If it doesn't say something, it doesn't do something.

 

Duplicates do not add to Strength.

 

Hodor cannot be declared as an attacker.  He could only attack if another card enables him to do so, or if his text is blanked.

 

Losing Stealth -- the card that removes Stealth will clarify how long ("until the end of the phase" or similar wording).  If there is no limit stated, then Stealth is gone indefinitely.

 

A duplicate can save a character from being killed.  Maester Aemon, Viserys Targaryen, Ser Davos, Bodyguard -- all cards that can save from being killed.

 

Honor Guard doesn't say you get it back if they lose, so you don't get it back if they lose.


Edited by kauai1964, 21 August 2014 - 08:58 AM.


#6 JohnClark

JohnClark

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 August 2014 - 06:06 PM

When you play unique cards can you have only one in play and wait for it to be killed and then you can play another? Explain simple and use examples Please.

 

When are condition cards played and can they be played on opponents cards? Explain how you play them when you can play them. Give examples.

 

The plot card Valar Morghulis House stark, it says when revealed kill all characters in play. Does this include you and opponent?

 

When you play attachments, items, weapon. Do you have to attach them right away to character or can you pay for them and use them when you can? Can you attach them to opponents cards? Can you also pay for these types of cards when in the challenging phase?

 

Please again explain simple and use example within the Core Set Thanks To All That Reply



#7 JohnClark

JohnClark

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 August 2014 - 06:29 PM

Quick question

When you play event cards. Who do they effect if they dont say you or opponent do you choose? 



#8 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 409 posts

Posted 24 August 2014 - 02:44 PM

Again, read the cards as literally as possible.

 

You may only have one copy of each unique card in play at a time.  You may only have one Eddard Stark in play, not two.  You may have one Eddard, one Arya, one Robb, and one Catelyn all in play at the same time, but only one of each -- any extras may only be played as duplicates.  If one is killed, you may NOT play another copy -- if a unique card is in your dead pile, you cannot put another copy into play.

 

Valar Morghulis says to kill all characters in play.  "All" means ALL -- yours and everybody else's.

 

Attachments may only be played in the Marshalling Phase (although some may be put into play at other times, IF the card or something else allows them to).  They must be attached to something -- if they are not attached, they are discarded.  Some attachments are Conditions.  Attachments are normally attached to either characters or locations -- the card will say which.  If they don't say "attach to YOUR character", you may attach them to ANY character (except characters that say "No Attachments.")

 

If a card is not specific, it almost always means you get to choose.


Edited by kauai1964, 24 August 2014 - 02:46 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS