Jump to content



Photo

Large monsters and Blast


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Covered in Weasels

Covered in Weasels

    Member

  • Members
  • 537 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 05:01 PM

How do you resolve an attack with Blast against a large monster? I'd guess you choose a space in the target monster's square that you can see and hit each other monster adjacent to that square.


Do not ask why you serve.  Only ask how.

 

Synonymous names include: Buried in Ferrets, Enveloped by Ermine.

Currently GMing a Dark Heresy 2.0 game and inflicting untold misery upon Martin Lockheed and company.


#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 05:27 PM

That is correct: You choose a square to attack which happens to have a monster in it, and you measure blast radius from that space.



#3 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 978 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 05:39 PM

Just to be clear (and you probably know this), you have to specify your target space BEFORE you roll.  You can't roll. see what square would be the best one to pick for major blast damage and pick it.



#4 Covered in Weasels

Covered in Weasels

    Member

  • Members
  • 537 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 05:45 PM

Ok, in that case we were playing it correctly. Thanks for clearing it up!


Do not ask why you serve.  Only ask how.

 

Synonymous names include: Buried in Ferrets, Enveloped by Ermine.

Currently GMing a Dark Heresy 2.0 game and inflicting untold misery upon Martin Lockheed and company.


#5 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 07:42 AM

And just to be clearer: You select one of the monster's square to determine LOS. If you have line of sight, you can attack, and if you roll enough range, you hit. If you use a blast ability, ALL figures adjacent to that MONSTER (not square) also get hit by the attack. This is why attacking large monsters with blast is extremely beneficial. More bang for your buck, so to speak.



#6 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 784 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:01 AM

If you use a blast ability, ALL figures adjacent to that MONSTER (not square) also get hit by the attack. This is why attacking large monsters with blast is extremely beneficial. More bang for your buck, so to speak.

I'm sorry, but as I understand it, that's exactly wrong.

 

Blast reads "This attack affects all figures adjacent to the target space." Target space, not target figure. The large monster is not affected by the attack twice (even though it has spaces adjacent to its target space,) but all other adjacent spaces get affected. In this manner, blast is actually less effective against large monsters.

 

This is consistent with the general mechanic in Descent where attacks target a specific space that an enemy figure is in, they do not target the entire enemy figure.


Edited by Zaltyre, 20 August 2014 - 08:05 AM.

  • griton likes this

#7 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 978 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:06 AM

Zaltyre is definitely correct.  Like any other attack, you are targeting a SPACE, not a figure.  If you hit with Blast, any figure adjacent to the targeted space is affected.

 

Base Rules, Page 13:

 

Blast
On a Blast attack, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected
by the attack. The attacker rolls his attack pool once and applies the
result to each affected figure, but each affected figure individually rolls its
defense pool separately. Only the target space needs to be in range and in
line of sight of the attacker. Blast attacks affect both enemy and friendly
figures, and a figure can only be affected by Blast once per attack.



#8 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 679 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 08:39 AM

same here. It's the "square", and a same monster cannot be hitten twice by the same attack because he occupies multiples squares

(seen it somewhere on bgg faq)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS