Jump to content



Photo

Evading


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TangKK

TangKK

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 09:53 AM

Hello All. New to the forum and will no doubt have lots of possible obscure questions regarding the game.

 

Something cropped up in a game I had the other night that caused some issues.

My friend was playing as the Callidus Assassin and landed on a space that ended up drawing a weak enemy threat card that summons other threats to help it when engaged. My friend decided that his characters rule allowed him to evade any enemy so engaged the original threat. Another friend brought up an interesting question about the timing of the evade saying that because he (the assassin) had committed to the fight, that he could not evade the additional threats that would join that fight.

 

I suspect that for most people it is open to interpretation but I would assume that once committing to a fight (choosing not to evade) you cannot evade opponents that automatically join the fight because of the conditions of the fight.

 

If a Game Dev could clarify what would happen in this situation that would be very helpful as my friend (the Assassin player) is that pedantic :)

 

Thanks for your time.



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 12:28 AM

Firstly, what's the enemy that calls for more cards to be drawn when you fight it? Most (all?) extra draw cards happen during the Exploration Phase (usually through extra Threat icons), well before the battle is joined. Can't recall offhand any such enemy you describe (engage -> draw more cards), though slight inkling that there might be some that don't adhere to the draw cards in Exploration Phase.

 

"When evading multiple enemies that share an

attribute, the evading player chooses to evade each enemy
individually. The evading player is not required to evade
all enemies in his space, and any enemies not evaded
must participate in battles as normal." (p. 14)


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 TangKK

TangKK

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 05:10 AM

Cheers for the reply

 

Chaos Pirate - Red Threat Deck

At the start of this battle each enemy in your tier with a Strength attribute immediately moves to your space and joins this battle

 

Evading

Some Special abilities allow players to evade enemies. Players trigger such abilities during the Engagement phase before the start of a battle with the enemy.

 

So am I correct in assuming that if he chooses to engage the Pirate (or Cunning or Willpower equivalent) that he loses his chance to evade additional enemies that are brought to the fight?



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 05:38 AM

Yeah, Willpower and Cunning have a similar enemy in the decks as well now that I think about it. I'd say yes, you either evade the initial Enemy or fight them all. Mostly though, not sure I've seen people bother evading, especially Callidus, if she has a Power card 6 or two in hand (her combat dice explode into 2 additional dice), I'll take my chances with the fight for mega-trophies. And even if not Callidus, fight them like a man, evading is for the weak, Blood for the Blood God! Oh, wait...  :lol:


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 TangKK

TangKK

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 05:53 AM

Yeah thought that was the case.

 

Cheers for the timely reply






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS